NORTHWESTERN WILDCATS

Official Store

    Northwestern Heads Northwest for NCAA Seattle Regional

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM The bright lights of the NCAA Tournament shine bright on Northwestern again beginning Thursday.
    NUSPORTSDOTCOM
    The bright lights of the NCAA Tournament shine bright on Northwestern again beginning Thursday.
    NUSPORTSDOTCOM

    May 13, 2014

    2014 NCAA Seattle Regional
    Date Thursday-Saturday, May 15-17
    Location Husky Softball Stadium | Seattle, Wash.
     The Schedule THURSDAY, May 15
    G1: BYU vs. Northwestern, 6:30 p.m. CT/4:30 p.m. PT
    G2: Iona vs. Washington, 9 p.m. CT/7 p.m. PT

    FRIDAY, May 16
    G3: Winner G1 vs. Winner G2, 3 p.m. CT/1 p.m. PT
    G4: Loser G1 vs. Loser G2, 5:30 p.m. CT/3:30 p.m. PT
    G5: Loser G3 vs. Winner G4, 8 p.m. CT/6 p.m. PT

    SATURDAY, May 17
    G6: Winner G3 vs. Winner G5, 2 p.m. CT/Noon PT
    G7: If Necessary, 30 minutes after G6

    Social Media  @NUSBCats   |  @NU_SportsLive
    Game Notes  NU's NCAA Regional Game Notes
    Tickets  Buy Tickets Now

    Printable Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- Northwestern has earned one of 32 at-large bids to the 2014 NCAA Tournament and will open play Thursday, May 17, against BYU at the Seattle Regional hosted by No. 12 overall seed Washington.

    Northwestern's opening round foe BYU is champion of the West Coast Conference and rides a 15-game winning streak into NCAA play. Host and No. 12 seed Washington faces Iona in its first game. Play begins at 6:30 p.m. CT/4:30 p.m. PT on Thursday with NU and BYU kicking things off.

    The winner of the Seattle Regional will advance to play the winner of the Gainesville Regional hosted by No. 5 seed Florida.

    There is no TV coverage of Seattle's Regional; all Northwestern games will be brought to you live via SID Doug Meffley streaming audio at NUsports.com. Listen links and Gametracker links can be found on the Northwestern softball schedule page here at NUsports.com.

    All-session tickets are on sale now by calling the Husky ticket office at 206-543-2200 or GoHuskies.com. Infield seats at $30 and general admission is $21/$15. Single-session tickets will go on sale Wednesday at 8:30 a.m. local time and cost $12 for infield and $8/$6 for general admission.

    Northwestern is making its 14th overall appearance in the NCAA Tournament and its ninth in the 13-year Drohan era. NU has won its Region four times and made two trips to the Women's College World Series under Drohan, compiling a 27-19 all-time record in NCAA play. In the Wildcats' last berth in the NCAA field, they defeated No. 6 overall seed Texas in the opening round before advancing to the Austin Regional final.

    Northwestern concluded the 2014 season with a 33-16 overall record which included a 4-2 victory over then-No. 3 Washington Feb. 21 at the Mary Nutter Collegiate Classic in Cathedral City, Calif. NU and Washington last met in the NCAA Tournament in 2007 at the Women's College World Series, where the Huskies came out on top on Winner's Bracket Friday.

    NU last faced BYU at the 2013 Mary Nutter where the Wildcats scored three runs in the top of the seventh to defeat the Cougars, 4-1. NU and Iona have never met.

    For Northwestern's complete NCAA Seattle Regional notes package, download the .pdf at the top of this page.

    ••••••

    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!