NORTHWESTERN WILDCATS

Official Store

    'Cats Go Coast-to-Coast, Play UA Showcase in Florida Next

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM At last season's UA Showcase, Northwestern coaches Kate and Caryl Drohan picked up their 400th career win.
    NUSPORTSDOTCOM
    At last season's UA Showcase, Northwestern coaches Kate and Caryl Drohan picked up their 400th career win.
    NUSPORTSDOTCOM

    March 5, 2014

    Feb. 26, 2014

     Northwestern (11-4) at the Under Armour Showcase
     Date  Friday-Sunday, March 7-9
     Location   Tournament Home Page | Tampa and Clearwater, Fla.
     The Schedule March 7 | 10:45 a.m. CT/11:45 a.m. ET | vs. Kansas | GT | Listen Live!
    March 7 | 1:15 p.m. CT/2:15 p.m. ET| at South Florida | GT | Listen Live!
    March 8 | 12:45 p.m. CT/1:45 p.m. ET | vs. LIU Brooklyn | Listen Live!
    March 8 | 3 p.m. CT/4 p.m. ET | vs. Western Michigan | Listen Live!
    March 9 | 7:30 a.m. CT/8:30 a.m. ET | vs. Boston College | Listen Live!
     Social Media  @NUSBCats   |  @NU_SportsLive
     Game Notes  NU's Under Armour Showcase Notes

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- After all but one of its games last weekend in Southern California were rained out, Northwestern is pumped to get back on the field for five games at the South Florida Under Armour Showcase in Tampa and Clearwater, Fla.

    NU opens the tournament Friday against Kansas and the host Bulls on USF's campus in Tampa before shifting to the 9-field Eddie C. Moore complex in Clearwater to face LIU Brooklyn, Western Michigan and Boston College Saturday and Sunday. Note that Sunday's game with the Golden Eagles has been moved up to a true sunrise special first-pitch time of 8:30 a.m. ET/7:30 a.m. CT.

    The Wildcats run-ruled UC Santa Barbara last week in their only game at the Louisville Slugger Invitational while seeing games versus the likes of Louisville, Cal State Fullerton, No. 5 UCLA and Long Beach State washed away. Junior Andrea DiPrima (Arlington Heights, Ill./Buffalo Grove) went 3-for-3 in that game to raise her season average to a team-best .442. In the circle, Kristen Wood (Trevor, Wis./Wilmot Union) defeated UCSB to move to a team-high 6-2 on the year.

    At 11-4, NU has continued its best start to a season since beginning 12-3 in 2008. With a team batting average at .344, NU has set a lofty early pace at the plate. Consider that Northwestern has scored double-digits in eight games this year, including against every non-ranked foe save for one. Ten times this year the Wildcats have plated five or more runs in a single inning.

    After defeating its second ranked opponent of the year, a 4-2 win over then-No. 3 Washington on Friday, Feb. 21, Northwestern is sitting just outside both top-25 polls. All four of the Wildcats' losses this year have come against ranked opponents.

    Live audio will be provided for every NU game this weekend and all year long. Listen live links can be found in this NUsports.com weekly preview release or, more simply, on the NU softball schedule page. Broadcasts will be free of charge on Wildcats All-Access.

    Tickets for 2014 Northwestern softball at Sharon J. Drysdale Field are ON SALE NOW and can be purchased online at NUsports.com or by calling 888-GO-PURPLE (467-8775). Tickets are $7 for adults, $4 for youth and seniors, and $3 for groups of 15 or more. For softball ticketing questions or for group sales, contact Joe Thuente at 847-467-6862 or j-thuente@northwestern.edu.

    Northwestern is the host of the 2014 Big Ten Tournament May 8-10 at Sharon J. Drysdale Field. Single-session group tickets for this premier, 12-team softball event ARE ON SALE NOW; again, contact Joe Thuente at 847-467-6862 or j-thuente@northwestern.edu. The tourney will feature not only some of the nation's best softball, but also the first-ever night game in the history of Sharon J. Drysdale Field.

    For the complete Northwestern game notes package for this weekend's Under Armour Showcase, download the .pdf at the top of this page.

    ••••••

    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!