NORTHWESTERN WILDCATS

Official Store

    Weather Completes Run-Rule Victory Over West Coast Softball

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Brianna LeBeau was part of a 1-2-3 punch in the 7-8-9 spots of the NU lineup last weekend; the group combined to bat .357 in five games.
    NUSPORTSDOTCOM
    Brianna LeBeau was part of a 1-2-3 punch in the 7-8-9 spots of the NU lineup last weekend; the group combined to bat .357 in five games.
    NUSPORTSDOTCOM

    Feb. 26, 2014

     Northwestern (10-4) at the Louisville Slugger Invitational
     Date  Friday-Sunday, Feb. 28-March 2
     Location   Tournament Home Page | Fullerton, Long Beach and Lakewood, Calif.
     The Schedule Feb. 28 | 4:30 p.m. CT/2:30 p.m. PT | vs. Louisville CANCELED
    Feb. 28 | 9:30 p.m. CT/7:30 p.m. PT| at CS Fullerton CANCELED
    March 1 | 2:30 p.m. CT/12:30 p.m. PT | vs. UCSB | GT | Listen Live!
    March 1 | 10 p.m. CT/8 p.m. PT | vs. No. 5 UCLA CANCELED
    March 2 | 3:15 p.m. CT/1:15 p.m. PT | vs. Louisville CANCELED
     Social Media  @NUSBCats   |  @NU_SportsLive
     Game Notes  NU's Louisville Slugger Invitational Notes

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- Northwestern returns to California for the second-straight weekend Feb. 28-March 2 for the Louisville Slugger Invitational co-hosted at three different sites by Cal State Fullerton and Long Beach State.

    WEEKEND WEATHER UPDATE:

    Biblical rains forecasted for the weekend in California materialized, wiping out all but one of NU's games, which the Wildcats won 10-1 (5) Saturday over UC Santa Barbara. That contest still featured a 42-minute rain delay -- and in all reality likely wouldn't have seen completion if it had gone the full 7-inning distance.

    With rain sparse on Sunday morning, Northwestern had hopes of making up at least one game against Louisville, but the field the tournament was shifted to did not have a tarp and could not take the pounding of the weather. Then, in a scene out of many sports movies, NU and Louisville decided they would play anywhere on any field. Calls all over the LA and Orange County areas revealed no playable fields, however, and the plans were scrapped.

    ------

    At 10-4, NU is off to its best start to a season since beginning 12-3 in 2008. With a team batting average at .340, NU has set a lofty early pace at the plate. Consider that Northwestern has scored double-digits in eight games this year, including against every non-ranked foe save for one. Nine times this year the Wildcats have plated five or more runs in a single inning.

    After defeating its second ranked opponent of the year, a 4-2 win over then-No. 3 Washington on Friday, Feb. 21, Northwestern is sitting just outside both top-25 polls. All four of the Wildcats' losses this year have come against ranked opponents.

    Live audio will be provided for every NU game this weekend and all year long. Listen live links can be found in this NUsports.com weekly preview release or, more simply, on the NU softball schedule page. Broadcasts will be free of charge on Wildcats All-Access.

    Tickets for 2014 Northwestern softball at Sharon J. Drysdale Field are ON SALE NOW and can be purchased online at NUsports.com or by calling 888-GO-PURPLE (467-8775). Tickets are $7 for adults, $4 for youth and seniors, and $3 for groups of 15 or more. For softball ticketing questions or for group sales, contact Joe Thuente at 847-467-6862 or j-thuente@northwestern.edu.

    Northwestern is the host of the 2014 Big Ten Tournament May 8-10 at Sharon J. Drysdale Field. Single-session group tickets for this premier, 12-team softball event ARE ON SALE NOW; again, contact Joe Thuente at 847-467-6862 or j-thuente@northwestern.edu. The tourney will feature not only some of the nation's best softball, but also the first-ever night game in the history of Sharon J. Drysdale Field.

    For the complete Northwestern game notes package for this weekend's Louisville Slugger Invitational, download the .pdf at the top of this page.

    ••••••

    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!