NORTHWESTERN WILDCATS

Official Store

    Celebration of College Softball On Tap at Nutter Classic

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM
    NUSPORTSDOTCOM

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM

    Feb. 19, 2014

     Northwestern (7-2) at the Mary Nutter Collegiate Classic
     Date  Friday-Sunday, Feb. 21-23
     Location   Big League Dreams Park | Cathedral City, Calif.
     The Schedule Feb. 21 | 3 p.m. CT/1 p.m. PT | vs. No. 3 Washington | Listen Live!
    Feb. 21 | 5:30 p.m. CT/3:30 p.m. PT| vs. No. 18 Oklahoma | Listen Live!
    Feb. 22 | 2:30 p.m. CT/12:30 p.m. PT | vs. San Diego State | Listen Live!
    Feb. 22 | 7:30 p.m. CT/5:30 p.m. PT | vs. LIU Brooklyn | Listen Live!
    Feb. 23 | 11 a.m. CT/9 a.m. PT | vs. No. 15 Baylor | Listen Live!
     Social Media  @NUSBCats   |  @NU_SportsLive
     Game Notes  NU's Mary Nutter Collegiate Classic Notes

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- Now in its second decade, the Mary Nutter Collegiate Classic has grown into college softball's biggest regular-season celebration, and once again Northwestern is one of the invited guests. For the 10th time in 11 years, NU heads to Cathedral City, Calif., Feb. 21-23, to compete in this event.

    Formerly the Palm Springs Classic and the Cathedral City Classic, the tournament was re-named last year in honor of Mary Nutter, a softball pioneer and Michigan State graduate who passed away in 2012. This year, 14 of the nation's current USA Today/NFCA top-25 are in the field of 35 teams.

    NU faces No. 3 Washington and No. 18 Oklahoma Friday, San Diego State and LIU Brooklyn Saturday, and No. 15 Baylor on Sunday. Friday's games will be at "Wrigley Field." Saturday's first game against the Aztecs will be played at the outlying "Pawtucket Field" before a move back to "Yankee Field" for the final two contests of the weekend.

    All-session tickets to the 2014 Mary Nutter Collegiate Classic are available for purchase through Northwestern. If you are interested in buying tickets through NU Softball, email head coach Kate Drohan at k-drohan@northwestern.edu for more information.

    At last year's Mary Nutter Collegiate Classic, Northwestern went 5-0 including handing then-No. 4 Tennessee its first loss of the 2013 season. All five of those victories came down to the Wildcats' final at-bats.

    Northwestern is coming off a tournament win at the LSU Tiger Invitational where the Wildcats' 4-1 record was best in the field. NU fell only to the host No. 21 Tigers while defeating No. 18 South Alabama along with Penn State and George Washington (twice). All four Wildcats' pitchers got a start in the tourney and NU's offense continued its torrid output, now standing at 8.1 runs per game.

    Live audio will be provided for every single Northwestern game this weekend and all year long. Listen live links can be found in the NUsports.com weekly preview release or, more simply, on the NU softball schedule page. Broadcasts will be free of charge on Wildcats All-Access. Due to internet restrictions, Gametracker will only be available for select games this weekend.

    Tickets for 2014 Northwestern softball at Sharon J. Drysdale Field go on sale Monday, Feb. 24, and can be purchased online at NUsports.com or by calling 888-GO-PURPLE (467-8775). Tickets are $7 for adults, $4 for youth and seniors, and $3 for groups of 15 or more. For softball ticketing questions or for group sales, contact Joe Thuente at 847-467-6862 or j-thuente@northwestern.edu.

    Northwestern is the host of the 2014 Big Ten Tournament beginning May 8 at Sharon J. Drysdale Field. All-session and group tickets for this premier, 12-team softball event also will go on sale at the end of February. The tournament will feature not only some of the nation's best softball, but also will feature the first-ever night game in the history of Sharon J. Drysdale Field.

    For the complete Northwestern game notes package for this weekend's Mary Nutter Collegiate Classic, download the .pdf at the top of this page.

    ••••••

    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!