Official Store

    Jewell Named to Big Ten All-Tournament Team

    Nicole Jewell is a 2011 Big Ten All-Tournament Team honoree.

    Nicole Jewell is a 2011 Big Ten All-Tournament Team honoree.

    Nov. 6, 2011

    2011 Big Ten Tournament Central

    EVANSTON, Ill. – Northwestern sophomore defender Nicole Jewell (Raleigh, N.C./Leesville Road) was named to the 2011 Big Ten All-Tournament Team following the conclusion of Sunday’s final match at Lakeside Field.

    The Wildcats hosted the eight-team tournament, which returned after a two-year hiatus. This year’s tournament featured four games that went to extra time, including Sunday’s final between No. 1 seed Penn State and No. 2 Illinois. The Illini won the tournament title by a score of 2-1 after Vanessa DiBernardo notched a goal two minutes into overtime.

    Jewell is one of 11 players to make the all-tournament team. A complete list is as follows:

    2011 Big Ten All-Tournament Team

    Northwestern – Nicole Jewell

    Iowa – Emily Moran

    Ohio State – Danielle Scoliere

    Wisconsin – Megan Flannery

    Michigan State – Jill Fliestra

    Minnesota – Shari Eckstrom

    Penn State – Jess Rosenbluth

    Penn State – Emma Thomson

    Illinois – Vanessa DiBernardo

    Illinois – Marissa Mykines

    Illinois – Stephanie Panozzo

    Defensive Player of the Tournament – Stephanie Panozzo (Illinois)

    Offensive Player of the Tournament – Marissa Mykines (Illinois)


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook! and subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter to receive the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!