Official Store

    Kjellman Voted Top Female Collegiate Lacrosse Player, Will Receive Honda Award

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM For the second straight year Kristen Kjellman was the recipient of the NCAA Honda Award in the sport of lacrosse.
    For the second straight year Kristen Kjellman was the recipient of the NCAA Honda Award in the sport of lacrosse.

    June 7, 2006

    NEW YORK -- Kristen Kjellman of Northwestern University has been chosen the nation's top collegiate female lacrosse athlete for 2006, marking the second year in a row that she has won the prestigious award. The honor was based on the results of national balloting among 1,000 NCAA member schools as part of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards program, now in its 30th year.

    Kjellman's victory will earn her a second Honda Award, given annually to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports, along with automatic nomination for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year. The other finalists included Katie Chrest from Duke University, Crysti Foote from The University of Notre Dame and Coco Stanwick from Georgetown University. The candidates were selected by the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA).

    Kjellman led Northwestern's women's lacrosse team to its second NCAA championship, finishing the season with an outstanding 20-1 record and helping the Wildcats become the first team in school history to record back-to-back NCAA team titles. She was named the American Lacrosse Conference (ALC) Player of the Year for the second year in a row and is a three-time All-American as well as the winner of the Tewaaraton Foundation's "Tewaaraton Trophy" as the nation's top female lacrosse player.

    A junior from Westwood, Mass., Kjellman finished the season ranked seventh in the nation this year in goals per game (3.43), sixth in points per game (4.67), fourth in draw controls (4.33) and led her team in scoring (72 goals) as part of the nation's top-scoring offense that averaged 15.8 goals per game. She ranks third on Northwestern's all-time list for career goals (184), career assists (75) and career points (259).

    Previously announced Honda Award recipients include Irene Cho of The University of Southern California for Golf, Ashley Miles of The University of Alabama for Gymnastics, Seimone Augustus of Louisiana State University for Basketball, Mary DeScenza of The University of Georgia for swimming and Christine Sinclair of The University of Portland for soccer, Courtney Thompson of The University of Washington for volleyball, Caroline Bierbaum of Columbia University for cross-country and Paula Infante of The University of Maryland for field hockey. The Honda Award winner in tennis will be announced later this week. Additionally softball, track and field and the Division II & III winners will be announced in the coming weeks.

    The Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year will be determined by separate balloting involving all NCAA-member institutions and the winner will receive the Honda-Broderick Cup at Columbia University in New York on June 26, 2006.

    American Honda Motor Co., Inc. sponsors the Collegiate Women Sports Awards Program.

    Awards Contact:
    Adam Weissman or Harvey Bolgla

    Dobbin/Bolgla Associates
    156 Fifth Avenue, Suite 523
    New York, NY 10010
    Phone: (212) 388-1400/ Fax: (212) 388-1490 /