Official Store

    Five 'Cats Receive 2013 All-ALC Distinction

    With 36 caused turnovers on the year, senior Gabriella Flibotte was one of three 'Cats to be named first-team All-ALC.

    With 36 caused turnovers on the year, senior Gabriella Flibotte was one of three 'Cats to be named first-team All-ALC.

    May 1, 2013

    MORE: 2013 ALC Tournament Preview

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- The American Lacrosse Conference doled out its annual year-end awards Wednesday, recognizing a total of five Northwestern veterans on the league's first and second-team all-conference squads.

    A trio of seniors -- attacker Erin Fitzgerald and midfielders Taylor Thornton and Gabriella Flibotte -- were among the 12 players named first-team All-ALC while senior midfielder Ali Cassera and junior attacker Alyssa Leonard garnered second-team all-conference accolades.

    This is the second straight year in which Northwestern landed three players on the All-ALC first team and a total of five on both teams. Twenty-nine Wildcats have received all-conference distinction since the 2009 season.



    With her selection, Thornton (three first-team, one second-team) joins former NU greats Kristen Kjellman (2004-07), Meredith Frank (2006-09) and Alex Frank (2009-12) as the only four-time All-ALC honorees in program history. Fitzgerald earned her second straight first-team laurel. Leonard -- who was the league's Rookie of the Year in 2011 -- joins Cassera and Flibotte as first-time All-ALC honorees.

    Fitzgerald carried the banner as Northwestern's leading scorer on attack in her senior campaign, netting 55 goals and 61 points en route to joining the program's career leaders in both categories. The Mt. Sinai, N.Y. native recorded 11 games with three or more goals -- including a run of four straight five-goal performances and a career-best six in a win over Harvard on March 16 -- and also chipped in 20 ground balls and 11 caused turnovers for the 'Cats.

    Flibotte patrolled Northwestern's midfield and racked up 36 caused turnovers, tied for the third-best single-season total in school history. She also leads the team in ground balls (46) and is second with 41 draw controls, often sparking the NU attack in transition and adding eight goals and one assist.

    As she has since arriving in Evanston as a freshman, Thornton once again excelled at both ends of the field, posting her second straight season of at least 20 goals while adding 35 ground balls, 34 draw controls and 19 caused turnovers. She has joined Northwestern's all-time leaders in all three of those categories, beginning the postseason ranked third in program history in both ground balls and caused turnovers and seventh in draw controls.

    A four-year contributor in the Wildcats midfield, Cassera deservedly earns her first all-conference nod, matching her career best with 21 points -- five of which came on her clutch five-goal performance in a 13-12 win over No. 5 Syracuse on March 30. The New Jersey native has posted 19 ground balls -- including six in a 10-8 road victory vs. Notre Dame -- and nine caused turnovers.

    Finally, Leonard makes her debut appearance on the All-ALC roster after a year in which she resumed her dominance on the draw circle to the tune of 102 draw controls, eight shy of the Northwestern single-season record. But Leonard also stepped into a new role offensively and flourished, leading the Wildcats with 11 goals and ranking second in both goals (26) and points (37).

    The Wildcats will officially receive their all-conference awards later this week at the 2013 American Lacrosse Conference Tournament hosted by Johns Hopkins in Baltimore. All honorees and special awards recipients will be recognized during an on-field ceremony in between Thursday evening's quarterfinal contests.

    2013 All-American Lacrosse Conference Honorees
    First Team
    Kitty Cullen, Florida
    Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins
    Brittany Dashiell, Florida
    Sam Farrell, Florida
    Erin Fitzgerald, Northwestern
    Gabriella Flibotte, Northwestern

    Shannon Gilroy, Florida
    Katie Guy, Penn State
    Kelly Lechner, Penn State
    Carly Linthicum, Vanderbilt
    Maggie McCormick, Penn State
    Taylor Thornton, Northwestern

    Second Team
    Ashley Bruns, Florida
    Paige Cahill, Vanderbilt
    Ali Cassera, Northwestern
    Sammy Cermack, Johns Hopkins
    Katie Chase, Ohio State
    Jackie Cifarelli, Ohio State
    Mackenzie Cyr, Penn State
    Dene DiMartino, Johns Hopkins
    Emily Dohony, Florida
    Tayler Kuzma, Ohio State
    Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern
    Jenna Mosketti, Penn State

    ALC Special Award Winners
    Offensive Player of the Year: Kitty Cullen, Florida
    Midfield Player of the Year: Brittany Dashiell, Florida
    Defensive Player of the Year: Sam Farrell, Florida
    Goalie of the Year: Mikey Meagher, Florida
    Rookie of the Year: Dené DeMartino, Johns Hopkins
    Coach of the Year: Amanda O'Leary, Florida


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!