Official Store

    Thornton, Fitzgerald Nominated for 2013 Tewaaraton Award

    Erin Fitzgerald (pictured) and Taylor Thornton each were named to the list of 25 nominees for the 2013 Tewaaraton Trophy.

    Erin Fitzgerald (pictured) and Taylor Thornton each were named to the list of 25 nominees for the 2013 Tewaaraton Trophy.

    April 27, 2013

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- On the eve of their Senior Day outing Saturday vs. Penn, senior midfielders Erin Fitzgerald and Taylor Thornton each were named nominees for the 2013 Tewaaraton Trophy, the Tewaaraton Foundation announced Friday. The NU duo are two of 25 players from across Division I women's lacrosse to be nominated for the annual award, considered the Heisman Trophy of men's and women's lacrosse.

    A two-year co-captain for the 'Cats, Thornton earned selection to the list of Tewaaraton Trophy nominees for the third consecutive season after also being named one of five national finalists during her junior campaign in 2012. This year, Thornton ranks second on NU in ground balls (35) and caused turnovers (18) and is tied for third in goals scored with 21, with notable performances that include single-game career bests of four goals against Ohio State and five caused turnovers against Vanderbilt. The three-time IWLCA All-American and 2011 IWLCA Defender of the Year has recently moved into third on Northwestern's career rankings in both caused turnovers (90) and ground balls (169), putting her within striking distance of NU's career ground balls record of 183.



    Fitzgerald makes her first career appearance on the Tewaaraton Trophy nominees list after serving as the driving force on Northwestern's attack all season long, recording a team-best 51 goals and 54 points. She has at least one goal in every game this year, including her career-best effort of six goals and seven points against Harvard on March 16 -- her fourth straight game with at least five goals. Earlier this year, she became the 13th player in program history to record 200 career points and has moved into ninth all-time at Northwestern with 182 goals.

    A Wildcat has claimed the sport's top honor a total of five times since 2006, with Kristen Kjellman and Hannah Nielsen each winning the award in consecutive years from 2006-09 before Shannon Smith joined the elite group of winners as a junior in 2011.

    The winners of the 2013 Tewaaraton Trophy on both the men's and women's sides will be announced on May 30 in a ceremony at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian. Below is the complete list of 25 nominees from across Division I women's lacrosse.

    2013 Tewaaraton Trophy Nominees
    Casey Ancarrow, James Madison - Sr., A
    Alex Aust, Maryland -- Sr., A
    Becca Block, Syracuse -- Sr., D
    Kara Cannizzaro, North Carolina -- Sr., M
    Demmianne Cook, Stony Brook -- Sr., M
    Kitty Cullen, Florida -- Sr., A
    Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins -- Jr., A
    Brittany Dashiell, Florida -- Sr., M
    Jasmine DePompeo, Navy -- Sr., A
    Danielle Etrasco, Boston University -- Sr., A
    Erin Fitzgerald, Northwestern -- Sr., M
    Shannon Gilroy, Florida -- Soph., M
    Kerrin Maurer, Duke -- Soph., A
    Maggie McCormick, Penn State -- Soph., A
    Mikey Meagher, Florida -- Sr., GK
    Alyssa Murray, Syracuse -- Jr., A
    Marlee Paton, Loyola -- Jr., M
    Mikaela Rix, Boston College -- Soph., M
    Iliana Sanza, Maryland -- Sr., D
    Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland -- Sr., M
    Barbara Sullivan, Notre Dame -- Soph., D
    Caroline Tarzian, Georgetown -- Soph., A
    Taylor Thornton, Northwestern -- Sr., M
    Michelle Tumolo, Syracuse -- Sr., A
    Taylor Virden, Duke -- Jr., D


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!