Official Store

    Koester, Kjellman Named to Tewaaraton Watch List

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Courtney Koester
    Courtney Koester

    Feb. 16, 2005

    EVANSTON, Ill. - Two Northwestern lacrosse players -- senior Courtney Koester and sophomore Kristen Kjellman -- are among a group of 32 women who have been named to the Tewaaraton Award Foundation's 2005 Watch List.

    The Tewaaraton Award Foundation, in conjunction with The University Club of Washington, D.C., formally established the "Tewaaraton Trophy" on August 29, 2000. Today, the Tewaaraton Trophy is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award honoring the top female and male varsity collegiate lacrosse player in the United States. Simply, it is the lacrosse equivalent of the Heisman Trophy. With the inaugural presentation taking place at the University Club of Washington, D.C. in June of 2001, the Tewaaraton Trophy is now presented annually following the collegiate season at a banquet honoring the finalists and winners.

    Click here for more information on the Tewaaraton Trophy

    "It is a great honor to be nominated for the Tewaartan Trophy, and I could not be more pleased that Kristen and Courtney are on the watch list," said NU head coach Kelly Amonte Hiller. "Both of these players are extremely hard working and unselfish, and possess tremendous athletic ability and skill. This is a great honor for these individuals and for our program."

    Both Koester and Kjellman have received several preseason awards, following a stellar 2004 campaign when they led NU to a 15-3 record, a share of the American Lacrosse Conference title, the No. 6 ranking in the final Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) national poll, and a berth in the NCAA quarterfinal round.

    Koester -- who along with her twin sister Ashley Koester did not pick up the sport of lacrosse until her sophomore year of college -- was an IWLCA first-team All-America last year and has been a two-time first-team All-ALC selection. Kjellman, meanwhile, was an IWLCA second-team All-America as well as the choice for National Freshman of the Year by both Inside Lacrosse and Kjellman was also the ALC Rookie of the Year in 2004.

    The 32 women named to the Watch List hail from all three NCAA divisions. Among the group are six players from the ALC -- in addition to Koester and Kjellman, the league is represented by Ashley Dardine and Mary Key from Johns Hopkins, Regina Oliver from Ohio State, and goalkeeper Elizabeth Tortorelli from Penn State.

    Northwestern -- which is No. 3 in preseason national polls by both Inside Lacrosse and Lacrosse Magazine -- open up the regular season Sunday afternoon at North Carolina.

    2005 Tewaaraton Award Watch List -- Women's Lacrosse
    Erin Acone, Stonehill College
    Amy Appelt, Virginia
    Lindsey Biles, Princeton
    Jessica Burnap, New Hampshire
    Cary Chasney, Virginia
    Katie Chrest, Duke
    Katieanne Christian, Dartmouth
    Delia Cox, Maryland
    Ashley Dardine, Johns Hopkins
    Meg Dentler, George Mason
    Lauren Douger, College of New Jersey
    Bridget Eder, Hofstra
    Sydney Greene, Loyola (Md.)
    Katherine Hock, Adelphi
    Megan Huether, Duke
    Monica Joines, Syracuse
    Mary Key, Johns Hopkins
    Kristen Kjellman, Northwestern
    Courtney Koester, Northwestern
    Nikki Lieb, Virginia
    Melissa McCarthy, North Carolina
    Regina Oliver, Ohio State
    Elizabeth Pillion, Princeton
    Elizabeth Renehan, Middlebury
    Rachel Shuck, Loyola (Md.)
    Helen Sneath, Colorado College
    Greta Sommers, Maryland
    Elizabeth Tortorelli, Penn State
    Alyssa Trudel, Boston University
    Lauren Vance, Princeton
    Acacia Walker, Maryland
    Devon Wills, Dartmouth