Official Store

    Experienced NU Squad Returns to NCAA Championships

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Head coach Emily Fletcher and sophomore Kaitlin Park return to the NCAA Championships for the third time in school history.
    Head coach Emily Fletcher and sophomore Kaitlin Park return to the NCAA Championships for the third time in school history.

    May 16, 2014

    2014 NCAA Championships
    Dates Tuesday, May 20-Friday, May 23
    Location Tulsa Country Club | Tulsa, Okla.
    Live Scoring
    Championship Central
    Schedule 18 holes each day (72 total)
    NU tees off Tuesday, May 20 at 8:36 a.m. CT with Florida & Campbell
    Live Tweets @NU_SportsLIVE
    Live Video (3rd & 4th Rounds)
    (24 teams, 6 individuals)
    Alabama, Arizona, Arizona State, Baylor, California, Campbell, CSU-Northridge, Denver, Duke, East Tennessee St., Florida, Iowa State, Kansas, Kent State, Michigan State, Mississippi State, NC State, Northwestern, Ohio State, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Southern California, Stanford, Texas A&M, Tulane, UCLA, UNLV, Vanderbilt, Virginia, Washington

    NU NCAA Championship Notes Get Acrobat Reader

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- The Northwestern women’s golf team is one of 24 teams remaining and the Wildcats will look to finish the season strong at the 2014 NCAA Championships. The 72-hole tournament runs from Tuesday, May 20-Friday, May 23 and is played on the par-70, 6,194-yard Tulsa Country Club. NU will tee off the tournament on Tuesday at 8:36 a.m. along with Florida and Campbell. The Wildcats will be paired with the same teams on Wednesday and tee off at 12:56 p.m.

    Head coach Emily Fletcher’s squad brings championship experience to this year’s tournament as the Wildcats return four starters from last year’s team that advanced to the 2013 NCAA Championships. Those returnees include a pair of First Team All-Big Ten honorees, junior Hana Lee and sophomore Kaitlin Park, Second Team All-Big Ten selection sophomore Elizabeth Szokol and sophomore Suchaya Tangkamolprasert, who led the Wildcats at the NCAA West Regional with a top-10 finish and also finished first amongst the Wildcats at last year’s NCAA Championship. Freshman Kacie Komoto, who was a Second Team All-Big Ten honoree in her first year with the Wildcats, is making her first trip to the NCAA Championships.

    Northwestern is advancing to the postseason finale for back-to-back seasons thanks to a top-eight finish at the NCAA West Regional. This year, Northwestern played a number of teams that are in the championship field and fared well against the competition with five top-three finishes and eight top-five showings out of 11 tournaments.

    The Wildcats won the stroke play portion of the 2014 Liz Murphey Collegiate Classic, finishing ahead of eight other teams with representatives in the championship field, including defending NCAA Champions, USC. At the Liz Murphey, NU had a stellar round, carding an 11-under 277, setting a new program and tournament record. Alabama was 3-over to finish third while USC was 6-over for fourth place.

    Here are a few notables on the Northwestern women’s golf team as the Wildcats head to the 2014 NCAA Championships:

    • NU is ranked No. 14 by Golfweek and No. 15 by Golfstat heading into NCAA’s.

    • Northwestern is making its third NCAA Championship appearance and second in as many years. NU’s first trip to the NCAA Championships was back in 2000 and last year, the Wildcats placed 15th at the 2013 NCAA Championships.

    • NU has a very deep squad this year as four of the five starters have led the team at tournaments throughout the season. Here’s a look at NU’s leader at each tournament:

    Mary Fossum Invitational - Kaitlin Park (T2)
    Dick McGuire Invitational - Hana Lee (T7)
    Windy City Collegiate - Suchaya Tangkamolprasert (T9)
    Stanford Intercollegiate - Kaitlin Park (T20)
    Lady Puerto Rico Classic - Kacie Komoto (T17)
    Hurricane Invitational - Hana Lee (T5)
    Bryan National Collegiate - Hana Lee (T27)
    Liz Murphey Collegiate Classic - Hana Lee (T1)
    Silverado showdown - Kaitlin Park (T13)
    Big Ten Championships - Hana Lee (3)
    NCAA West Regional - Suchaya Tangkamolprasert (T10)

    • If the season ended today, the scoring averages this year from all five Wildcat starters would rank in the top 10 in program history:

    1. Hana Lee - 74.06
    3. Kaitlin Park - 74.35
    7. Kacie Komoto - 75.10
    7. Suchaya Tangkamolprasert - 75.10
    9. Elizabeth Szokol - 75.29

    Additional notes and statistics can be found in the PDF link at the top of the page.


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!