Official Store

    Four Wildcats Receive All-Big Ten Honors

    April 29, 2014

    Game Photo

    EVANSTON, Ill. – Four Wildcats were honored by the conference Tuesday with the announcement of the 2014 All-Big Ten Teams. Junior Hana Lee (Hacienda Heights, Calif./Wilson) and sophomore Kaitlin Park (Tustin, Calif./Beckman) received First Team All-Big Ten honors while sophomore Elizabeth Szokol (Winnetka, Ill./New Trier) and freshman Kacie Komoto (Honolulu, Hawaii/Punahou) were named Second Team All-Big Ten honorees.

    Northwestern doubled the previous program record of two All-Big Ten honorees for a single-season with a conference-best four Wildcats on the 2014 All-Big Ten Teams.

    "I'm super proud of the gals," Northwestern head coach Emily Fletcher said. "I was telling them, it's the first time in our program's history we've had four players represented on the All-Big Ten teams. It just speaks to the effort and the hard work that they have put in. Kacie, as a freshman, has just been steady all year and Elizabeth made a late spring season run. Kaitlin and Hana, obviously they've been the anchor for us. They really held us in there and they are tremendous players. I think it's indicitive of their efforts and just how we've been able to elevate things here."

    Lee and Park both become two-time First Team All-Big Ten recipients as the Wildcat duo received the same honor in 2013. After a third-place finish at the 2014 Big Ten Championships, Lee currently has the best stroke average on the team at 73.75 and is on pace to break her own school record for single-season scoring average of 74.27 which she set in 2012-13. Park is just behind Lee in scoring average at 73.96, which would occupy the No. 2 spot on NU’s single-season scoring average list.

    This year, Lee led the Wildcats with four top-10 finishes, including medalist honors at the Liz Murphey Collegiate Classic. The NU junior scored a 6-under 66 during the lone round of stroke play, matching her own school record for a single round. She also placed in the top 10 at the Dick McGuire Invitational (T-7th), Hurricane Invitational (T-5th) and Big Ten Championships (3rd). Additionally, Lee’s eight rounds under par ranked first on the team and she was the top NU finisher at five of NU’s 10 events. She also was Northwestern’s recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

    Park was consistent throughout the season for Northwestern, finishing in the top 20 in seven of 10 events, including two top-10 showings. She tied for second at the season-opening Mary Fossum Invitational and finished fourth at the Liz Murphey Collegiate, carding a 3-under 69, helping the Wildcats set a new program record for a single round at 11-under 277.

    Szokol came on strong to finish the 2013-14 season to earn her first All-Big Ten award. She placed in the top 20 in each of NU’s last three events, including a fifth-place showing at the Liz Murphey. She was Northwestern’s second-highest finisher at the 2014 Big Ten Championships, as her 13th-place finish helped the Wildcats place in the top three at the conference tournament for the third time in the last four years. Szokol ranks fourth on the team in scoring average at 75.18.

    Komoto made quite the debut in her first season with the Wildcats, recording five top-20 finishes and two top-10 placements. She led NU at the spring-opening Lady Puerto Rico Classic, guiding the Wildcats to a third-place finish, and also tied for seventh at the Hurricane Invitational, an event that the Wildcats won. Komoto recorded a 74.75 scoring average and had six rounds under par, both of which rank third on the team.

    Under the direction of head coach Emily Fletcher, Northwestern had another outstanding season with two tournament wins, five top-three placements and eight top-five finishes and looks to continue its success at the 2014 NCAA West Regional. NU is the No. 7 seed in the 24-team field and will play at the Tumble Creek Golf Club in Cle Elum, Wash., from May 8-10. This will be the 12th NCAA regional appearance in program history, including fifth-straight under Fletcher.

    The complete list of Big Ten award winners is as follows:

    Big Ten Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year: Jessica Porvasnik, Ohio State
    Big Ten Coach of the Year: Therese Hession, Ohio State

    First Team
    Liz Nagel, Michigan State
    Hana Lee, Northwestern
    Kaitlin Park, Northwestern
    Zoe-Beth Brake, Ohio State
    Jessica Porvasnik, Ohio State
    Aurora Kan, Purdue

    Second Team
    Ember Schuldt, Illinois
    Allyssa Ferrell, Michigan State
    Kacie Komoto, Northwestern
    Elizabeth Szokol, Northwestern
    Katja Pogacar, Ohio State
    Ellen Ceresko, Penn State

    Sportsmanship Award Honorees
    Ember Schuldt, Illinois
    Elizabeth Tong, Indiana
    Jessie Sindlinger, Iowa
    Catherine Peters, Michigan
    Lindsey McPherson, Michigan State
    Anna Laorr, Minnesota
    Steffi Neisen, Nebraska
    Hana Lee, Northwestern
    Claudia Lim, Ohio State
    Christina Vosters, Penn State
    Aurora Kan, Purdue
    Kris Yoo, Wisconsin


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!