Official Store

    Big Ten Champions Continue Postseason at NCAA East Regional

    The Wildcats are making their fourth-straight NCAA Regional appearance under head coach Emily Fletcher.

    The Wildcats are making their fourth-straight NCAA Regional appearance under head coach Emily Fletcher.

    April 29, 2013

    2013 NCAA Regional Rankings

    EVANSTON, Ill. - A day removed from winning the first Big Ten title in program history, the Northwestern women's golf team will continue postseason action at NCAA Regionals. The Wildcats, who were 2013 Big Ten Co-Champions, received the automatic bid for the conference and will compete in the NCAA East Regional at the Auburn University Golf Club. Competition runs May 9-11 in Auburn, Ala.
    The Wildcats are making their fourth-consecutive NCAA appearance under head coach Emily Fletcher and 11th trip in program history. A total of 378 participants were selected for this year's regional competition and of those players, 126 will advance to the championships finals. Eight teams and two individuals will advance from each regional.
    NU is the No. 10 seed in the East Regional and will face a strong field featuring eight teams ranked in the top 25 by Those teams include No. 2 Alabama, No. 5 Arkansas, No. 8 UCLA, No. 11 North Carolina, No. 12 Virginia, No. 18 Oklahoma State, No. 20 Tulane and No. 23 Texas. A complete list of East Regional participants can be found below.
    Northwestern started its postseason strong by claiming a share of the 2013 Big Ten title over the weekend at The Donald Ross Course in French Lick, Ind. The Wildcats led the entire tournament and carded a new Big Ten Championship record for 54 holes of 884, along with co-champion Purdue. All six Wildcats competing at the Big Ten Championships finished inside the top 25, including a trio of players that placed in the top 10.
    The 'Cats will look for a strong showing at the regional in hopes of qualifying for the 2013 NCAA Championships from May 21-24, played at the University of Georgia Golf Course in Athens, Ga.
    Below is a complete list of teams competing in the East Regional.
    2013 NCAA East Regional Field
    Auburn, Ala. • Auburn University Golf Club
    Seeds/Teams (Conference Champions)
    1. Alabama (Southeastern)
    2. Arkansas
    3. UCLA
    4. North Carolina
    5. Virginia
    6. Oklahoma State (Big 12)
    7. Tulane (Conference USA)
    8. Texas
    9. Notre Dame (Big East)
    10. Northwestern (Big Ten)
    11. Tennessee
    12. Kentucky
    13. Texas State
    14. Auburn
    15. Central Florida
    16. Penn State
    17. East Carolina
    18. Florida International (Sun Belt)
    19. Mississippi
    20. East Tennessee State (Atlantic Sun)
    21. Tennessee-Chattanooga (Southern)
    22. James Madison (Colonial Athletic Association)
    23. Eastern Kentucky (Ohio Valley)
    24. Alabama State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!