Official Store

    NU Looks to Defend Conference Crown at 2014 Big Ten Championships

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Sophomore Kaitlin Park led NU at the 2013 Big Ten Championships, finishing sixth and earning a spot on the All-Championship Team.
    Sophomore Kaitlin Park led NU at the 2013 Big Ten Championships, finishing sixth and earning a spot on the All-Championship Team.

    April 22, 2014

    2014 Big Ten Championships
    Dates Friday, April 25-Sunday, April 27
    Location Pete Dye Golf Course | French Lick, Ind.
    Course Info 6,017 yards, par 72
    Live Scoring
    Twitter Updates @bigtenchamps#B1GGolf
    Championship Website
    Schedule Friday - 18 holes; 8 a.m. CT
    Saturday - 18 holes, 8 a.m. CT
    Sunday, 18 holes, 7 a.m. CT
    TV Big Ten Network (Tape-Delay; May 7, 6 p.m. CT)
    (12 teams)
    No. 66 Illinois, No. 112 Indiana, No. 106 Iowa, No. 96 Michigan, No. 25 Michigan State, No. 58 Minnesota, No. 77 Nebraska, No. 19 Northwestern, No. 27 Ohio State, No. 62 Penn State, No. 61 Purdue, No. 49 Wisconsin ( rankings)

    Northwestern Big Ten Championship Notes, Stats and Program Records Get Acrobat Reader Northwestern enters postseason with confidence

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- A year after winning the program's first Big Ten title, Northwestern looks to repeat that same success in French Lick, Ind., at the 2014 Big Ten Championships. The annual conference tournament runs from Friday, April 25-Sunday, April 27 at The Pete Dye Course.

    Last year, Northwestern led for the entire tournament and ended up sharing the conference crown with Purdue as both teams set a tournament record, scoring a 20-over 884 on The Donald Ross Course. It was a complete team effort as all six Wildcats competing at the 2013 Big Ten Championships finished in the top 25 with three in the top 10. Playing in her first conference tournament, then-freshman Kaitlin Park led the way for NU, finishing in sixth, scoring a 6-over 222 and earned a spot on the All-Championship Team.

    Five of the six Wildcats that helped the team win the title in 2013 are back for this year's edition of the tournament. Park, the 2013 Big Ten Freshman of the Year, currently leads the team in scoring average at 73.44 with seven top-20 finishes out of nine tournaments this year.

    Junior Hana Lee earned First Team All-Big Ten distinction a year ago and helped anchor the 2013-14 squad with the second-best scoring average on the team at 73.8, narrowly behind Park. Lee has three top-10 finishes, including co-medalist honors at the Liz Murphey Collegiate, matching a program record with a 6-under 66.

    A pair of sophomores that finished in the top 20 at last year's Big Ten Championships, Elizabeth Szokol and Suchaya Tangkamolprasert, along with newcomer Kacie Komoto will also compete for the Wildcats this year. With the 6-count-4 format, senior Devon Brown will have the opportunity to put a notable finish on her NU career as she is also competing this weekend. She has played as an individual in three events this year but last year, was a key part of NU's first Big Ten title as she was the second-highest Wildcat finisher, tying for seventh.

    Head coach Emily Fletcher has used the lineup of Park, Lee, Szokol, Tangkamolprasert and Komoto in all nine tournaments. The Wildcats once again enjoyed much success during the regular season with seven top-five showings, including four top-three finishes. NU placed first at two events during the 2013-14 season; The Hurricane Invitational and the stroke-play portion of the Liz Murphey Collegiate Classic.

    This is the third year the Big Ten Championships have been played in French Lick, Ind., but this year, the women's tournament will be held on the Pete Dye Course. This course hosted the men's tournament in the previous years as the women played on The Donald Ross Course. The Pete Dye Course is etched into the hilltops behind the French Lick Springs Hotel and is situated on one of Indiana's highest elevation points. It features narrow fairways, ever changing bunkers and rugged, intense terrain. The Pete Dye Course has received a number of accolades, including a one of GolfWeek's Top 100 Courses for 2014 (No. 27), GolfWeek's No. 1 Public Course in Indiana in 2013 and 2012 Indiana Course of the Year.

    The Big Ten Network will provide a tape-delay broadcast of the 2014 Big Ten Championships on Wednesday, May 7 at 6 p.m. CT.

    Here are a few more Northwestern notables:

    • NU shot an 11-under 277 at the Liz Murphey Collegiate, which is a new program record and new tournament record

    • NU enters the tournament as the highest-ranked Big Ten team, coming in at No. 12 in Golfweek and No. 19 in the Golfstat rankings

    • If the season ended today, Kaitlin Park and Hana Lee would sit No. 1 and No. 2 on NU's single-season scoring average, respectively. Lee set the record in 2012-13 at 74.27 but Park's 73.44 average would be the new top mark with Lee's 73.8 in 2013-14 close behind.

    • Four Wildcat starters have scoring averages in the 73's or 74's.

    • NU has three of the top 54-hole tournament scores in program history this year. The Wildcats carded an 864 at the Hurricane Invitational, which is the new record. They also had an 867 at the Windy City Collegiate Classic and 869 at the Stanford Intercollegiate. The previous record was 870, set in 2007 at the Mountain View Collegiate.


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!