Official Store

    New Format Awaits Wildcats at Liz Murphey Collegiate Classic

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Suchaya Tangkamolprasert and Northwestern head coach Emily Fletcher
    Suchaya Tangkamolprasert and Northwestern head coach Emily Fletcher

    April 2, 2014

    2014 Liz Murphey Collegiate Classic
    Dates Friday, April 4-Sunday, April 6
    Location University of Georgia Golf Course | Athens, Ga.
    Course Info Par 72, 6,335 yards
    Live Coverage
    Schedule Friday – 18 holes of stroke play; NU tees off at 8:40 a.m. ET
    Saturday – Two rounds of match play
    Sunday – One round of match play
    (16 teams)
    No. 10 Alabama, No. 4 Arkansas, No. 28 Auburn, Daytona State, No. 41 Denver, Georgetown, No. 50 Georgia, Indiana, No. 22 Iowa State, No. 20 Michigan State, No. 36 Mississippi State, No. 26 North Carolina State, No. 23 Northwestern, No. 31 Texas A&M, Troy, No. 1 Southern California

    Liz Murphey Match Play Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- Northwestern is changing things up this week at the 2014 Liz Murphey Collegiate Classic. The Wildcats, and the 15 other teams in the field, will be playing one round of stroke play on Friday and then the remainder of the tournament will feature match play. This year’s tournament has been altered to include match play in advance of the NCAA Championships switching to a similar format in 2015.

    No. 23 Northwestern is part of another strong field that features an additional 11 teams ranked in the top 50 in the country, including top-ranked USC, No. 4 Arkansas and No. 10 Alabama. The Wildcats will be paired with No. 10 Alabama and No. 41 Denver in Friday’s stroke play and they will tee off from hole No. 1 at 8:40 a.m. ET.

    Following stroke play, the top eight teams will advance to the “Red Bracket” while the bottom eight teams will participate in the “Black Bracket”. Each team will play two rounds of match play on Saturday and a third and final round on Sunday.

    The Liz Murphey Collegiate Classic is one of the oldest continuous sporting events in all of women’s intercollegiate athletics. The list of golfers who have competed in the Liz Murphey includes LPGA Hall of Famers Beth Daniel, Betsy King and Julie Inkster. The tournament began in 1973 as the Georgia Invitational and was renamed in 1995 in honor of Liz Murphey, UGA’s Hall of Fame golf coach and long-time Senior Woman Administrator.

    This is one of two final regular-season events on NU’s spring schedule before the Wildcats look to defend their conference title at the 2014 Big Ten Championships, April 25-27 in French Lick, Ind.


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!