Official Store

    Quinn Garners First-Team All-Big Ten Honors

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Alexandra Quinn finished her career as a two-time All-Big Ten performer, earning first-team honors in 2008.
    Alexandra Quinn finished her career as a two-time All-Big Ten performer, earning first-team honors in 2008.

    Nov. 6, 2008

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- At its annual postseason banquet, the Big Ten Conference announced Alexandra Quinn (Watertown, Mass./Watertown) as one of 11 first-team All Big-Ten selections for the 2008 season. Quinn, who last year garnered second-team accolades, finished in a tie for fourth in the league with a career-best 14 goals and also chipped in five assists.

    Senior Annie Bosslet (Granite City, Ill./Villa Duchesne) also earned recognition, receiving the league’s Sportsmanship Award, which is given to one player from each of the Big Ten’s seven field hockey programs.

    Quinn’s selection gives NU a first-team All-Big Ten representative in back-to-back years. Amanda Care earned the nod as a senior a year ago.

    Quinn, who entered her senior campaign with 14 career goals, burst out of the gates in 2008 with four total goals in Northwestern’s first two home games, wins against Miami (Ohio) and Sacred Heart. Her efforts earned her Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week honors on Sept. 8, the first such award of her career.

    She duplicated that feat just two weeks later thanks to scoring outbursts against Saint Louis and Robert Morris. Quinn had a hand in five of NU’s six goals against the Billikens, scoring twice and notching three assists. She followed up that effort with a two-goal performance against RMU, wrapping up a seven-game stretch during which Quinn compiled 10 goals.

    In NU’s regular season finale, Quinn scored what proved to be the game-winning goal in a 3-1 victory against Indiana and recorded a goal and an assist against Michigan State in the Big Ten Tournament.

    Quinn has also managed to stamp her name in Northwestern’s career record books, moving into a tie for 14th all-time in points with 74.



    Below is a look at the complete list of Big Ten honorees for the 2008 season:

    First Team
    Caroline Blaum, Sr., midfield, IOWA
    Roz Ellis, Sr., defense, IOWA            
    Lauren Pfeiffer, Sr., defense, IOWA
    Sarah Wilhite, Sr., defense, MICH
    JEAMIE DEACON, Jr., midfield, MSU
    Floor Rijpma, Jr., midfield, MSU
    Alexandra Quinn, Sr., forward, NU
    LINDA HAUSSENER, Sr., midfield, OSU
    Jen Beaumont, Sr., goalkeeper, PSU
    JEN LONG, Sr., defense, PSU
    ALLISON SCOLA, Sr., forward, PSU
    *Second Team
    Meg O’Connell, Jr., midfield, IND
    Meghan Beamesderfer, So., forward, IOWA
    Lissa Munley, Sr., goalkeeper, IOWA
    Kelly Fitzpatrick, Jr., forward, MICH
    Stephanie Hoyer, Sr., forward, MICH
    Meredith Way, So., defense, MICH
    Chantae Miller, Fr., forward, MSU
    Jantine Steinmetz, So., forward, MSU
    Aisling Coyle, Fr., midfield, OSU
    Emily Mikac, Sr., forward, OSU
    Bethany Marvel, Jr., midfield, PSU
    Daneen Zug, So., midfield, PSU
    * Additional honorees due to ties
    Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS

    OFFENSIVE CO-PLAYERS OF THE YEAR: Linda Haussener, OSU and Allison Scola, PSU
    FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Jessica Longstretch, PSU
    COACH OF THE YEAR: Charlene Morett, PSU
    Sportsmanship Award Honorees                                                                     
    Danitra Castro, Indiana
    Lissa Munley, Iowa
    Heather Wiley, Michigan
    Angela Pagura, Michigan State
    Annie Bosslet, Northwestern
    Emily Mikac, Ohio State
    Jen Beaumont, Penn State