Official Store

    Armstrong Headlines Strong Wildcat Presence In All-Big Ten Honors

    Chelsea Armstrong earned Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year laurels for the second-consecutive season.

    Chelsea Armstrong earned Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year laurels for the second-consecutive season.

    Nov. 3, 2011

    PARK RIDGE, Ill. -- Following one of the most successful seasons in both Northwestern and Big Ten history, junior Chelsea Armstrong was voted the Big Ten's Offensive Player of the Year by the conference coaches, it was announced today (Nov. 3). Armstrong also was a unanimous first-team All-League selection, as was sophomore midfielder Nikki Parsley.

    Two other Wildcats appeared on the awards docket, as senior forward Regan Mooney garnered second-team honors and fellow classmate Megan Jamieson was NU's Sportsmanship Award winner.

    Armstrong shattered two Northwestern records this season, becoming the Wildcats' all-time points leader as well as the school's all-time goal scorer. Through 59 games in her career, Armstrong owns 171 career points and 70 career goals. On the Conference level, the Aussie leads the league in goals (23), points (53) and game-winning goals (6), making this year the third-straight season Armstrong has led the Big Ten in goals scored and points.

    This year's honors mark the third-straight season Armstrong was a first-team All-Big Ten selection, and the second-consecutive year she was named the Conference's Offensive Player of the Year. Last year's accolade marked the first time a Wildcat was the Big Ten's top offensive player since 1994.

    A spunky midfielder, Parsley has started every game this season and is second on the team with 10 goals, and third in points with 21. Mooney, who also has started all 20 games this year for the 'Cats, joins Armstrong atop the league's statistics, owning a Big Ten-leading 19 assists. She is second on the team with 35 points.

    The Wildcats battle host Penn State in the opening round of the 2011 Big Ten Tournament at approximately 1:30 p.m. CT today (Thursday). Complete Tournament coverage, including Gametracker for Northwestern's contest can be found by clicking here.



    2011 Big Ten Individual Award winners
    • Offensive Player of the Year: Chelsea Armstrong, NU
    • Defensive Player of the Year: Jenn Sciulli, OSU
    • Freshman of the Year: Laura Gebhart, PSU
    • Coach of the Year: Marcia Pankratz, MICH


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook! and subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter to receive the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media