Official Store

    Chien, Patterson Capture NU's Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Awards

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Devynn Patterson (pictured) joins Sam Chien as NU's Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners.
    Devynn Patterson (pictured) joins Sam Chien as NU's Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners.

    May 30, 2012

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- Twenty-four student-athletes from 12 member institutions have been named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2011-12 academic year by the Big Ten Conference. Senior Sam Chien (San Diego, Calif./Mt. Carmel) of the men's golf team has been chosen as Northwestern's men's recipient, while classmate Devynn Patterson (Seattle, Wash./Roosevelt) of the fencing program received the women's honor.

    The 24 winners of this year's award were chosen from a group of 300 student-athletes honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship.

    Chien has done outstanding work over his NU career, displaying the attitude and work ethic necessary to grow into a Big Ten-caliber golfer. The senior was in and out of the Wildcats lineup as he started out, experiencing an early success with a career-best final-round 64 to win the Navy Fall Classic as a sophomore. He continued to work hard and was rewarded with a stellar senior season. Chien was named Big Ten Golfer of the Week for the first time in February after going a perfect 4-0 to lead Northwestern to its third-straight Big Ten Match Play title. He then capped his career with a silver medal effort at the 2012 Big Ten Championships, finishing as one of just two golfers who were under par for the event.

    Patterson has been a stalwart in the foil lineup for the Wildcats since arriving on campus in 2008. Her determination and drive to succeed helped Northwestern sustain its tradition of unparalleled success. A leader in both practice and in competition, the Seattle, native helped Northwestern to four straight NCAA Championship appearances during her time on the strips. She collected 284 career victories, good enough to graduate in seventh place on Northwestern's all-time list. Patterson had her best finish at the NCAA Championships in 2009, when as a freshman, she finished 13th overall.



    One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. From each university's list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these student athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

    The 2012 Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners appear below.

    Nathan Sheelhaase, Football
    Rachel Japp-Joyce, Swimming & Diving

    Jordan Hulls, Basketball
    Amanda Wagner, Softball

    Matt Gatens, Basketball
    Betsy Flood, Track & Field

    Jordan Kovacs, Football
    Courtney Boylan, Basketball

    Michigan State:
    Kirk Cousins, Football
    Jenilee Rathje, Volleyball

    Taylor Matson, Ice Hockey
    Anne Schleper, Ice Hockey

    Chris Phipps, Track & Field
    Kaitlyn Burke, Basketball

    Sam Chien, Golf
    Devynn Patterson, Fencing

    Ohio State:
    Andrew Sweat, Football
    Liz Sullivan, Soccer

    Penn State:
    Scott Rosenthal, Gymnastics
    Natalie Ettl, Gymnastics

    Joe Haase, Baseball
    Ashley Courtney, Softball

    Kyle Jefferson, Track & Field
    Anya Covington, Basketball


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook! and subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter to receive the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!