NORTHWESTERN WILDCATS

Official Store

    Big Ten Unveils 2014 Women's Basketball Conference Schedule

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM
    2013 Big Ten Freshman of the Year Maggie Lyon is one of three returning starters for Northwestern in 2013-14.

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM
    2013 Big Ten Freshman of the Year Maggie Lyon is one of three returning starters for Northwestern in 2013-14.
    NUSPORTSDOTCOM

    Aug 27, 2013

    2013-14 Northwestern Women’s Basketball SchedulePrintable Schedule Get Acrobat Reader

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- The Big Ten announced the 2014 women’s basketball conference schedule on Tuesday, revealing the 16-game slates for each conference program. Northwestern, and the rest of the conference, begin the Big Ten schedule on Thursday, Jan. 2.

    After a competitive 13-game nonconference schedule, the Wildcats open up 2014 in Lincoln, Neb., facing the Cornhuskers on Thursday, Jan. 2. The ’Cats then host their Big Ten home opener on Monday, Jan. 6, when Illinois visits Welsh-Ryan Arena.

    Northwestern hosts seven additional Big Ten foes at Welsh-Ryan Arena including Purdue (Thursday, Jan. 9), Wisconsin (Saturday, Jan. 18), Nebraska (Sunday, Jan. 26), Penn State (Sunday, Feb. 2), Michigan (Thursday, Feb. 6), Minnesota (Saturday, Feb. 15) and Michigan State (Thursday, Feb. 27).

    After the season-opening trip to Lincoln, Neb., Northwestern also visits Minnesota (Saturday, Jan. 12), Indiana (Thursday, Jan. 30), Iowa (Monday, Feb. 10), Penn State (Thursday, Feb. 20), Ohio State (Sunday, Feb. 23) and Wisconsin (Sunday, March 2).

    The conference slate culminates with the 2014 Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament, which returns to Bankers Life Field House in Indianapolis, Thursday, March 6-Sunday, March 9.

    The most up-to-date Northwestern women’s basketball schedule can be found with the links at the top of the page. Please note that game times and television designations will be announced at a later date.

    For ticket information for the upcoming Northwestern women’s basketball season, call 888-GO-PURPLE or visit the ticket page on NUsports.com.

    In his sixth season as head coach at Northwestern, Joe McKeown returns a number of key players from a year ago, including 2013 Big Ten Freshman of the Year Maggie Lyon and All-Big Ten honoree Karly Roser. Four freshmen join the squad for 2013-14 including a pair of high school All-America honorees in forward Nia Coffey and guard Christen Inman, along with guard Ashley Deary and forward Allie Tuttle.

    ••••••

    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!