Official Store

    'Cats Visit Virginia Tech for 2014 ACC/Big Ten Challenge

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Nia Coffey was NU's leading scorer in last year's Challenge against NC State.
    Nia Coffey was NU's leading scorer in last year's Challenge against NC State.

    June 4, 2014

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- The Big Ten and Atlantic Coast conferences announced on Wednesday the matchups for the 2014 ACC/Big Ten Women’s Basketball Challenge. Northwestern hits the road for this year’s edition of the Challenge and will visit Virginia Tech on Thursday, Dec. 4.

    With the addition of Maryland and Rutgers to the Big Ten Conference, the ACC/Big Ten Challenge will feature 14 matchups for the first time in the eight-year history of the event. Competition begins on Wednesday, Dec. 3 with eight games and the remaining six contests take place Dec. 4. The Wildcats have been victorious in two of their last three Challenge matchups.

    This is the third all-time meeting between the Wildcats and Hokies with the series split at 1-1. These two teams have not met since 1986 when the Wildcats recorded a 70-64 victory over Virginia Tech on a neutral court at the Old Dominion Reebok Roundball Classic. Virginia Tech won the first meeting, 85-77 in 1983, at the Virginia Tech Converse Christmas Classic in Blacksburg.

    The ACC and Big Ten conference offices determine the schedule each season. In addition, the official title of the Challenge will rotate each year. The 2014 event will be referred to as the ACC/Big Ten Women's Basketball Challenge and will continue to mirror the official title of the two conferences' Challenge agreement for men's basketball.



    The ACC and the Big Ten have long been among the most competitive conferences on the women's basketball scene. Last season, the Big Ten sent nine teams to postseason play, including Northwestern, which tied for the most in conference history, and matched a Big Ten record with 15 combined tournament triumphs. At least one conference team has appeared in the NCAA Sweet 16 in 28 of the last 30 years.

    Last season, the ACC was represented by nine overall postseason squads, including eight teams in the NCAA Women's Basketball Championship. The eight teams in the tournament marked the 20th consecutive season at least four ACC teams have been selected to the field.

    Game times, as well as television and broadband coverage, will be announced at a later date. For more information about the ACC/Big Ten Women's Basketball Challenge, including complete challenge history, log on to

    Wednesday, December 3
    Maryland at Notre Dame (Allen County War Memorial Coliseum, Fort Wayne, Ind.)
    Indiana at Boston College
    Minnesota at NC State
    Florida State at Purdue
    Duke at Nebraska
    Wake Forest at Michigan
    Virginia at Illinois
    Pittsburgh at Ohio State

    Thursday, December 4
    Iowa at Louisville
    Penn State at Syracuse
    Northwestern at Virginia Tech
    Wisconsin at Miami
    North Carolina at Rutgers
    Georgia Tech at Michigan State


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!