Official Store

    Harger, Polizzi, Tsirtsis Place at #Midlands51

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Pierce Harger finished in 4th place at Midlands
    Pierce Harger finished in 4th place at Midlands

    Dec. 30, 2013

    2013 Midlands Brackets and Team Standings -- Final Brackets 

    EVANSTON, Ill. – The 51st Ken Kraft Midlands Championship concluded Monday night with Northwestern registering 63.5 points to finish in seventh place.  

    Pierce Harger finished in fourth place for the Wildcats at 165 lbs.

    NU wrestlers Jason Tsirtsis (149 lbs.) and Alex Polizzi (197 lbs.) each won in their respective fifth place matches for the ‘Cats.

    Iowa collected 187.5 points to lead the tournament, followed by edinboro (102.5). Michigan (84.0) and Illinois (83.0) represented the Big Ten at third and fourth respectively.



    Northwestern’s No. 1 seed redshirt freshman Jason Tsirtsis finished in fifth place at 149 lbs. In the fifth place match, he jumped out to a solid lead and earned a 18-4 major decision over George Mason’s Blake Roulo. 

    In the fifth place match at 141 lbs., Indiana’s Ethan Raley, seeded No. 9, defeated the Wildcat’s No. 12 Pat Greco, winning the bout on a 5-2.

    In the third place match at 165 lbsl, Taylor Massa from Michigan defeated Harger by a 5-3 decision. Polizzi advanced in the fifth place match due to a medical forfeit by Illinois’ No. 1 seed Mario Gonzalez.

    Northwestern Results -- Session IV


    Fifth Place: No. 9 Ethan Raley (IU) dec. No. 12 Pat Greco (NU), 5-2 

    Fifth Place: No. 1 Jason Tsirtsis (NU) maj. dec. Blake Roulo (GMU), 18-4 

    Third Place: No. 3 Taylor Massa (MICH) (Unattached) dec. No. 7 Pierce Harger (NU), 8-0 

    Fifth Place No. 5 Alex Polizzi (NU) (medical forfeit) 

    Complete results can be found in the bracket link up top and finals results, along with award winners, are listed below.
    51st Ken Kraft Midlands Championships Finals 
    125 – No. 4 Thomas Gilman (Iowa) dec. Jarrod Garnett (Bison WC), 6-1
    133 – No. 4 Joe Colon (UNI) fall No. 2 Tony Ramos (Iowa), 2:37
    141 – No. 1 Mitchell Port (Edinboro) maj. dec. Steven Rodrigues (ILL), 11-2
    149 – No. 6 Mitchell Minotti (Lehigh) dec. No. 5 Eric Grajales (Mich), 5-4
    157 – No. 1 Derek St. John (Iowa) dec. No. 3 Taylor Walsh (IU) 9-3
    165 – No. 1 Steven Monk (North Dakota St) dec. No. 2 Nick Moore (Iowa), 4-2
    174 – No. 1 Mike Evans (Iowa) fall Shane Hughes (Columbia), 2:14
    184 – No. 2 Jimmy Sheptock dec. Ethen Lofthouse (Iowa), 3-1 (OT)
    197 – No. 2 Christian Boley (MD) dec. No. 4 Braden Atwood (PUR), 9-5
    Hwt – No. 3 Adam Coon (Mich) dec. No. 1 Bobby Telford (Iowa), 3-2 

    Dan Gable Most Outstanding Wrestler: Joe Colon (Northern Iowa)
    Art Kraft Champion of Champions: Joe Colon (Northern Iowa)
    Gorriaran Memorial: Taylor Walsh (Indiana) (four falls, 10:53)
    Fastest Fall Award: Anthony Edgren (Wisconsin-Whitewater. 0:23)
    Individual High Point Trophy:  29 Mike Evans (Iowa)
    Non-Division I Most Valuable Wrestler: Steve Dwyer (Beebe Trained Wrestling)


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!