Official Store

    No. 12 NU Welcomes No. 2 Iowa Friday

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM No. 12 Northwestern hosts Iowa Friday at 7:00 p.m. CT at Welsh-Ryan Arena. The Hawkeyes are currently ranked No. 2 in the nation by Intermat.
    No. 12 Northwestern hosts Iowa Friday at 7:00 p.m. CT at Welsh-Ryan Arena. The Hawkeyes are currently ranked No. 2 in the nation by Intermat.

    Jan. 29, 2014

    No. 2 Iowa (11-2, B1G 4-1) at No. 12 Northwestern (6-5, B1G 1-5)
     Date Friday, Jan. 31 | 7:00 p.m. CT
     Location  Welsh-Ryan Arena  | Evanston, Ill.
     Live Stats  NWCA Track Wrestling
     Live Video  Big Ten Digital Network on Wildcats All-Access
     Social Media  @NU_Wrestle   |  Facebook

    Season Stats Get Acrobat Reader

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- No. 12 Northwestern hosts Iowa Friday at 7:00 p.m. CT at Welsh-Ryan Arena. The Hawkeyes are currently ranked No. 2 in the nation by Intermat despite falling 19-14 to No. 3 Minnesota on Jan. 25. Intermat currently ranks NU heavyweight Mike McMullan No. 3 and Iowa's Bobby Telford No. 1 at the weight class. Both defeated Minnesota's defending NCAA champion Tony Nelson this season, with Telford's win coming on Jan. 25 

    The Hawkeyes have ranked wrestlers at all 10 weight classes, including seven in the top five. Friday's dual features ranked matchup's at 149 lbs. between NU's No. 4 Jason Tsirtsis and Iowa's No. 12 Brody Grothus. At 165 lbs., No. 7 Pierce Harger matches up with the Hawkeye's No. 4 Nick Moore. The `Cats Alex Polizzi, No. 17 at 197 lbs., is set to take on Iowa's No. 16 Nathan Burak.

    Promotions: Bring your team to watch the 'Cats take on the Hawkeyes. Each member of any group of 15 or more that purchase tickets in advance will get a free Northwestern hat!

    Probable Lineupes
    No. 12 Northwestern (6-5, 1-5)
    125: Garrison White (7-10)
    133: Dominick Malone (10-8)
    141: Pat Greco (12-10)
    149: No. 4 Jason Tsirtsis (19-3)
    157: Ben Sullivan (7-6)
    165: No. 7 Pierce Harger (19-4)
    174: Open
    184: Jacob Berkowitz (8-10)
    197: No. 17 Alex Polizzi (16-6)
    285: No. 3 Mike McMullan (7-1) 

    No. 2 Iowa (11-2, 4-1)
    125: Cory Clark 12-0
    125: No. 5 Thomas Gilman 15-3
    133: No. 5 Tony Ramos 19-2
    141: No. 9 Josh Dziewa 20-4
    149: No. 12 Brody Grothus 19-7
    149: Michael Kelly 10-5
    157: No. 2 Derek St. John 20-2
    157: No. 4 Nick Moore 15-2
    165: No. 5 Mike Evans 19-3
    174: No. 4 Ethen Lofthouse 16-2
    184: Sammy Brooks 16-7
    197: No. 16 Nathan Burak 9-3
    285: No. 1 Bobby Telford 16-1 

    Familiar Face
    Northwestern assistant coach Jay Borschel graduated from Iowa in 2010, where won a national title during his senior year at the 2010 NCAA Championships. Borschel racked up an overall record of 98-10 at 174 lbs, was a two-time All-American. En route to his championship in 2010, he compiled a perfect 37-0 record and his first Big Ten title as the Hawkeyes won both the conference and national tournaments. Borschel was selected as Iowa's Male Athlete of the Year and the Jesse Owens Award nominee for the 2009-10 academic year. 

    I'm Coming Home
    NU will honor 2008 NCAA Champion and NU Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2013 member Dustin Fox, who will receive an award from Jack Griffin. Between matches in Friday's dual, some of NU's greatest wrestlers and administrators will be in attendance. 

    Dustin Fox
    The 2008 NCAA heavyweight champion and a two-time All-American and four-time NCAA qualifier, Fox posted a 109-29 overall record for the Wildcats, including a 29-1 mark as a senior in 2008, culminating with an NCAA heavyweight championship. In the title bout, Fox defeated Ohio State's J.D. Bergman in a dramatic 4-2 victory that went to extra time. 

    Fox sustained a cut to his head, which continued to bleed during the championship match. After trainers continued to fix the cut, his headgear broke and Fox also fought off a blow to the nose, which left it broken and bloody. In true grit fashion, Fox defeated Bergman with a takedown in the match's second sudden victory.

    Ken Kraft
    It would be hard to match the dedication and service that Ken Kraft gave to Northwestern University. After compiling a 38-7-2 record on the wrestling mat -- the fifth-best winning percentage in school history -- Kraft became Northwestern's head wrestling coach in 1957, a position he held until 1979. At the time of his induction, he was the program's winningest coach. Following the conclusion of his coaching career, Kraft was named an associate athletic director and he served in an administrative capacity for 24 years. As an athlete, he won the 167-pound Big Ten championship his senior year. 

    Perhaps his most significant contribution to the wrestling program was the founding of The Midlands Championships, the nation's top amateur wrestling event, which has been held every year since 1966 between Christmas and New Year's Day at NU's Welsh-Ryan Arena. For his contributions to Northwestern, and specifically the wrestling program, a new wrestling facility was built, which bears his name, the "Ken Kraft Wrestling Complex."

    Mark Massery
    At the time of NU Hall of Fame induction, Massery was one of just five Northwestern wrestlers to capture a national championship. He garnered the 126-pound title in 1973 and also captured the Big Ten titles in that weight class in 1971 and '73. 

    As a sophomore n 1971, Massery established a then-Northwestern record with 31 wins en route to a fifth-place finish at the NCAA Championships and earned All-America status for the first time. When he graduated in 1973, Massery held the school record (since bettered) with 72 career wins.

    Jack Griffin
    Jack Griffin won the 118-pound NCAA championship in 1990, earning his second All-America honor that season. He also earned Big Ten titles in 1989 and 1990. He finished his career with a 156-21-1 (.879) record, marking the most wins ever for an NU wrestler. Griffin served as a captain for two NU squads, and qualified for the 1992 U.S. Olympic Team as an alternate. 

    Griffin had three seasons of 40 or more wins (no other NU wrestler has ever had more than one), and his 43-win campaign in 1989 is the second-best in NU history. He also was a three-time winner of the Stuteville Award for most points and the Lupton Award for most takedowns.


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!