Official Store

    Northwestern Heads to Georgia for NCAA Tournament

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Raleigh Smith was a first-team All-Big Ten selection this season along with Spencer Wolf.
    Raleigh Smith was a first-team All-Big Ten selection this season along with Spencer Wolf.

    May 9, 2013

    2013 NCAA Tournament Bracket (PDF)

     2013 NCAA Tournament Opening Rounds
     Date  Friday-Saturday, May 10-11
     Location  Dan Magill Tennis Complex  | Athens, Ga.
     Live Scoring/Video
     Tournament Central

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- Northwestern's men's tennis team makes its second-consecutive NCAA tournament appearance this weekend as it travels to Athens, Ga.

    The Wildcats, No. 36 in the most recent ITA team rankings, open up competition against No. 19 Wake Forest at 9 a.m. Central time Friday. Binghamton takes on host and second-ranked Georgia in the second match of the day. Friday's winners square off at 2 p.m. Central on Saturday for the right to advance to the round of 16 on May 17 in Urbana, Ill.

    Georgia is the No. 3 overall seed for the NCAA tournament.

    Northwestern (21-9) is having its winningest season since notching 21 victories in 1988. The Wildcats posted a 6-5 in the challenging Big Ten conference, good for a fifth-place tie. NU won its opening match of the Big Ten tournament 4-1 over Iowa before dropping a hard-fought match to Illinois 4-2 in the quarterfinal round.

    A year ago, the 'Cats travels to Durham, N.C., where they fell 4-0 to LSU in a first-round matchup.

    Senior Spencer Wolf and junior Raleigh Smith were both first-team All-Big Ten selections for Northwestern this year. It is the first time since 2006 that NU has had a first-team all-conference pick and the first time since 2005 that it has had multiple representatives on the all-league first team.

    Senior Sidarth Balaji paces the Wildcats with a 21-7 dual meet record in singles action while senior Chris Jackman is 21-8 and Smith is 20-8. Jackman's 9-2 record in Big Ten matches led the team.

    In doubles play, Balaji and Smith posted a 12-5 dual record to pace the squad.

    Wake Forest (20-8) made 11 straight NCAA tournament appearances prior to not making the field a year ago. The Demon Deacons went 7-3 in ACC play, good for a third-place finish. Second-year head coach Tony Bresky was selected as the ACC Coach of the Year, while David Hopkins, Amogh Prabhakar and Adam Lee all earned All-ACC honors. Lee's 37 overall singles wins this season are a Wake Forest single-season record.

    Northwestern and Wake Forest last squared off in the first round of the 2009 NCAA Tournament with the Demon Deacons posting a 4-0 win in Lexington, Ky.


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!