Official Store

    2012 Big Ten Men's Tournament Recap: Day One

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Day one of the 2012 Big Ten Men's Tennis Tournament is in the books. Day two begins at 9:30 a.m. Friday.
    Day one of the 2012 Big Ten Men's Tennis Tournament is in the books. Day two begins at 9:30 a.m. Friday.

    April 26, 2012

    Back to Tournament Central

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- Day one of the 2012 Big Ten Men's Tennis Tournament is in the books on the campus of Northwestern University. Four teams have been eliminated, with four advancing to day two.

    Kicking things off first were two lengthy matchups: the No. 8/No. 9 match between Wisconsin and Nebraska on the north courts and the No. 5/No. 12 match between Indiana and Iowa on the south courts.

    Nebraska handled Wisconsin, 4-0, in the day's first match. The Huskers got wins in doubles at Nos. 1 and 2, while the Badgers took No. 3, their only win of the day. First, UNL's Benedikt Lindheim and Robert Schulze defeated Alexander Kostanov and Quinton Vega, 8-5, but the Badgers came back to win at No. 3 with a tough 8-6 win by Rod Carey and Petr Satral over Chris Aumueller and Stefan Gollner. Nebraska clinched the doubles point with 72nd-ranked Andre Stenger and Eric Sock's 8-6 upset win over 34th-ranked Billy Bertha and Fredrik Ask.

    In singles, the Huskers took three straight with wins at Nos. 1, 2 and 4. First off was Benedikt Lindheim at No. 2 with his 6-2, 6-1 win over Rod Carey. Following was Andre Stengar with his 6-3, 6-3 win over Quinton Vega. The Huskers wrapped things up with No. 1 singles when No. 76 Chris Amueller defeated Fredrik Ask, 6-2, 6-2. At No. 3, Nebraska's Petr Satral and UW's Schulze were left unfinished with Satral up, 6-1, 5-2. Alexander Kostanov took his first set over Nebraska's Tom Blackwell, 6-2, but Blackwell was up in the second when things went final, 5-2. Wisconsin's Billy Bertha led Eric Sock, 6-1, 4-1.

    Indiana powered by Iowa, but the Hawkeyes made things interesting right off the bat in doubles. IU claimed the first match of the day at No. 3 with Stephen Vogl and Will Kendall's 8-3 win over Iowa's Tom Mroziewicz Will Vasos. The Hawkeyes' Matt Hagan and Jonas Dierckx won shortly after, 8-5, over IU's Josh MacTaggart and Alastair Barnes. But the 77th-ranked tandem in the nation, the Hoosiers' Jeremy Langer and Isade Juneau sealed up the first team point with an 8-5 victory over Garret Dunn and Michael Swank.



    Indiana would claim three consecutive singles matches with wins by Isade Juneau (No. 1), over Matt Hagan, 6-0, 6-2, 79th-ranked Josh MacTaggart (No. 2 singles) over Will Vasos, 6-1, 6-4, and Stephen Vogl (No. 4) over Garret Dunn, 6-4, 6-2. Three matches were left unfinished: At No. 3, IU's Jeremy Langer and Jonas Dierckx were tied 6-6 in the first; at No. 5, Indiana's Will Kendall was up one set over Iowa's Tom Mroziewicz, 7-6 (7-0), 5-0; and at No. 6, the Hoosiers' Dimitrije Tasic was down a set, but up in the second over Chase Tomlins, 4-6, 5-2.

    Starting off the afternoon round, Michigan State and Purdue shared an instant classic that went down to the wire. All seven team points were needed in the Spartans' come-from-behind victory. Ten-seed Purdue jumped out over seven-seeded Michigan State by winning the doubles point in two matches. First, No. 2 Krisztian Krocskos and Szymon Tatarczyk (PUR) defeated Harry Jadun and Austin Brooks (MSU), 8-6. Shortly after, Purdue clinched the point with a 8-6 win by Aaron Dujovne and Diego Acosta over Drew Lied and Aaron Pfister. At No. 3, State's Denis Bogatov and Gijs Linders held a 7-4 lead over Pawel Poziomski and Mark Kovacs.

    Purdue went up a quick 3-0 over the Spartans with wins by No. 5 Aaron Dujovne (6-0, 6-1 over Austin Brooks) and No. 2 Diego Acosta (6-4, 6-2 over Denis Bogatov). But MSU rallied back into it and overcame the Boilermakers with four consecutive wins. First, No. 6 Gijs Linders ousted Purdue's Evan Hawkins, 6-2, 6-1. Shortly following was No. 4 Drew Lied with his 6-4, 6-3 win over Krisztian Krocsko. MSU's Aaron Pfister squeaked past PU's Mark Kovacs, 7-5, 6-4, and No. 3 Ronnie Hulewicz clinched the Spartans' berth in the second round with his 6-1, 6-3 win over Szymon Tatarczyk.

    Host Northwestern and Penn State also made things quite interesting with NU's 4-2 win, which was closer than it appeared on the scorecard. At No. 1, Josh Graves defeated PSU's Jason Lee for the match's final decision, 6-3, 4-6, 6-4. Before the fireworks ending, it was a battle back-and-forth. In doubles, NU's Tobias Reitz and Sidarth Balaji got things started with their 8-3 win over Tomas Hanzlik and CJ Griffin at No. 3. PSU got a win at No. 1 when the 23d-ranked team of Jason Lee and Russell Bader edged out the No. 76 team of Joshua Graves and Spencer Wolf, 8-6, but the 'Cats struck back, winning the first team point with a win by the No. 2 doubles duo of Raleigh Smith and Alex Pasareanu over Bryan Welnetz and Taylor Cohen, 8-6.

    NU looked to take advantage of the 1-0 lead, but the Nittany Lions struck first in singles. At No. 5, Welnetz defeated NU's Pasareanu in straight sets, 6-4, 6-0, to even the ledger at 1-1. The Wildcats' No. 6 Chris Jackman powered by Penn State's Chris Hasyn, however, in three quick sets, 6-2, 3-6, 6-3, to give the 'Cats a 2-1 lead. PSU bounced back to knot things up again with a solid 6-3, 7-6 win by Taylor Cohen over Sidarth Balaji at No. 4. But Northwestern cruised to a victory after a nice three-set win by Raleigh Smith over PSU's Russell Bader, 7-5, 3-6, 6-2, at No. 3 and Graves' battle at No. 1. NU's Spencer Wolf and PSU's Tomas Hanzlik were the only remaining at the conclusion. Wolf captured the first set, 7-5, and Hanzlik grabbed the second, 6-4. The two were tied at the end, 2-2.

    Tomorrow's slate is just as busy and just as promising. No. 1-seed Ohio State and No. 9-seed Nebraska will start things off along with No. 4 Minnesota and No. 5 Indiana. Both matches are slated to begin at 9:30 a.m. at Vandy Christie Tennis Center. Following those bouts, No. 2 Michigan will face No. 7 Michigan State and No. 3 Illinois will face No. 6 Northwestern, both beginning at 1:30 p.m.

    In the event of inclement weather, indoor matches will be held at the Combe Tennis Center. Stay tuned to and follow @NU_Sports on Twitter for the latest updates.