Official Store

    Wildcats Land a Pair on All-Big Ten First Team

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Spencer Wolf was tabbe a first-team All-Big Ten selection.
    Spencer Wolf was tabbe a first-team All-Big Ten selection.

    April 25, 2013

    Senior Spencer Wolf (Coral Springs, Fla./Laurel Springs) and junior Raleigh Smith (Miami, Fla./Gulliver Prep) were both named to the All-Big Ten first team Thursday as selected by the conference's head men's tennis coaches.

    It is the first time that Northwestern has had an individual named first-team all-conference since 2006 when Christian Tempke earned the distinction. The last time NU had two players on the All-Big Ten first team was 2005 when Tempke and Tommy Hanus both picked up the honor.

    Wolf completed the regular season with a 14-11 singles record in dual meet action, including a 5-6 record in Big Ten play while competing at the No. 1 spot in the lineup for the Wildcats. He also notched a 6-5 conference record in doubles while alternating at all three spots in Northwestern's lineup. His best singles win of the season came on Feb. 8 when he defeated then-No. 20 Gonzales Austin of Vanderbilt in three sets.

    Smith, who is ranked No. 87 in this week's ITA singles rankings, posted a 19-7 dual meet singles record, primarily while competing at No. 2. He was 7-4 against Big Ten opponents in singles this year, including notching a three-set win over then-No. 6 Peter Kobelt of Ohio State on April 14. Smith got his season off to a great start back in the fall when he won both the singles and doubles title (with Sidarth Balaji) at the Big Ten Indoor Championships.

    In addition, senior Chris Jackman was named the team's recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen to receive the honor are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.



    Northwestern (21-8 overall) is No. 37 in this week's ITA team rankings. The Wildcats are seeded fifth for the Big Ten tournament in Columbus, Ohio, and will face fourth-seeded Illinois at 11 a.m. Central time Friday after defeating 12th-seeded Iowa 4-1 in an opening-round matchup Thursday.


    First-Team All-Big Ten*
    JARED HILTZIK, Illinois
    Josh MacTaggart, Indiana
    Sam Monette, Indiana
    EVAN KING, Michigan
    Aaron Pfister, Michigan State
    ROK BONIN, Minnesota
    Leandro Toledo, Minnesota
    Raleigh Smith, Northwestern
    Spencer Wolf, Northwestern
    PETER KOBELT, Ohio State
    Devin McCarthy, Ohio State
    BLAZ ROLA, Ohio State
    Connor Smith, Ohio State

    Second-Team All-Big Ten
    Tim Kopinski, Illinois
    Barrett Franks, Michigan
    Drew Lied, Michigan State
    Chris Diaz, Ohio State
    Szymon Tatarczyk, Purdue

    Unanimous selections in CAPS
    * Additional honorees due to a tie

    Athlete of the Year:
    Evan King, Michigan
    Freshman of the Year: Jared Hiltzik, Illinois
    Coach of the Year: Ty Tucker, Ohio State

    Bruno Abdelnoor, Illinois
    Chris Essick, Indiana
    Jonas Dierckx, Iowa
    Alex Petrone, Michigan
    Denis Bogatov, Michigan State
    Jack Hamburg, Minnesota
    Marc Herrmann, Nebraska
    Chris Jackman, Northwestern
    Blaz Rola, Ohio State
    CJ Griffin, Penn State
    Krisztian Krocsko, Purdue
    Petr Satral, Wisconsin


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!