Official Store

    Northwestern Will Present First Ever Arlie Weiss Memorial Sportsmanship Award

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Senior Christian Tempke (pictured with Paul Torricelli) will be the award's first recipient.
    Senior Christian Tempke (pictured with Paul Torricelli) will be the award's first recipient.

    April 10, 2007

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- Northwestern head coach Paul Torricelli has announced the creation of the Arlie Weiss Memorial Sportsmanship Award. The award, which will be presented annually, is in honor of Arlie Weiss, mother of Danny and Robbie Weiss, who were both accomplished college tennis players.

    "The award will be presented annually to the Northwestern men's tennis player who consistently displays outstanding sportsmanship and represents the University in a first class manner," Torricelli said. "Mrs. Weiss was a devoted mother of two outstanding players and an avid tennis fan. Sportsmanship was of great importance to her and she valued that above any of their accomplishments."

    Senior Christian Tempke (Wentorf, Germany/Gymnasium LobrÜgge) -- the first recipient -- will receive the award at a presentation prior to Northwestern's Senior Day contest against Michigan State on April 22. Tempke, a two-time All-Big Ten and Academic All-Big Ten selection, is currently ranked 107th nationally in singles and was NU's sportsmanship award nominee for the Big Ten as a sophomore.

    "I can't think of a greater honor than this for any player," Torricelli said. "Mrs. Weiss was such a wonderful role model for her sons and took great pride in their sportsmanship. Christian has been a true gentleman on the court not only this season, but throughout his career. He was a natural as our first award recipient."

    Mrs. Weiss' sons, Danny and Robbie, were the among the greatest tennis players to ever come out of Illinois. Danny was a three-time All-Big Ten selection (1982, 83, 85) for Northwestern and was the IHSA Boy's Singles Champion in 1980 and 81. Robbie was an All-American at Pepperdine and was the 1988 NCAA Singles champion. He won the IHSA singles title in 1982.

    Northwestern will present this award as well as honor its three seniors: Tempke, Willy Lock (Lima, Peru/Markham College) and Matt Christian (Troy, Mich./Brother Rice), in a ceremony prior to its regular season finale at noon Sunday, April 22, against Michigan State.