Official Store

    Rimkus Earns NCAA Cut Time, Wildcats Extend TYR Invitational Lead

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Mark Ferguson won both the 100 fly and 100 back for Northwestern during Saturday action at the TYR Invitational.
    Mark Ferguson won both the 100 fly and 100 back for Northwestern during Saturday action at the TYR Invitational.

    Nov. 17, 2012


    EVANSTON, Ill. -- Sophomore Mark Ferguson (Perth, Australia/John XXIII) won both the 100 fly and 100 back while senior Charlie Rimkus (Tustin, Calif./Beckman) picked up Northwestern's first NCAA `B' consideration time of the season Saturday to extend NU's team lead during day-two action at the TYR Invitational.

    Northwestern has 839 points to lead the four-team field. North Dakota is second with 488 points, UIC is third with 392 and Division III power Kenyon College is fourth with 377 points.

    The third and final day of the TYR Invitational begins at 9 a.m. CT tomorrow, Sunday, Nov. 18, with preliminary action. Finals will get underway at 3 p.m. Sunday afternoon. Live results can be found at by clicking here.

    Preliminary Portion of Saturday's Action:

    All five Northwestern entries in the 400 IM qualified for the championship final of the event during Saturday's preliminary action. Charlie Rimkus (Tustin, Calif./Beckman) led the way with a 4:04.52, 2.59 seconds faster than his nearest competitor. Freshman Van Donkersgoed (Eden Prairie, Minn./Minnehaha Academy) qualified second overall in 4:07.11 followed by classmate Jordan Wilimovsky (Malibu, Calif./Malibu) in fifth, Andrew Seitz (Pleasanton, Calif./Amador Valley) in seventh and Brien Gerber (Naperville, Ill./Neuqua Valley) in eighth.



    Grant Halsall (Laxey, Isle of Man, GBR) and Mark Ferguson (Perth, Australia/John XXIII) earned fifth- and seventh-place positions in the 100 fly championship final later in the evening with times of 51.55 and 51.77, respectively. They were the lone Wildcats to clinch scoring berths, though Matt Wilcox (Bemidji, Minn./Bemidji) and Williams Rosler (Bexler, Ohio/Columbus Academy) picked up second-swim opportunities in the bonus final of the events.

    Four Wildcats clinched qualifying times for the 200 free championship final. Rimkus, Chase Stephens (Madison, Wis./Edgewood), Dominic Cubelic (Glenview, Ill./Glenbrook South) and Alexander Ratajczyk (Parlin, N.J./Sayreville War Memorial) finished second, third, fifth and eight overall, respectively. Wilimovsky, Seitz, Varun Shivakumar (Hoffman Estates, Ill./Fremd) and Matt Wilcox (Bemidji, Minn./Bemidji) will represent Northwestern in the consolation final to give NU a whopping eight total point scorers in the event.

    In the 100 breaststroke, Donkersgoed and sophomore teammate, Aaron Sears (Neenah, Minn./Neenah), earned fifth- and sixth-place finishes overall. Donkersgoed's time of 58.79 bypassed his previous season record of 59.08. Gerber, Toni Valcic (Ribnica, Slovenia/Gimnazija Ledina) and Tim Smith (Oakland, Calif./De La Salle) will compete in the consolation final.

    Cubelic, Ferguson, Halsall and Shivakumar dominated the 100 back, all placing in the top eight. Cubelic's time of 50.44 earned him a lane-four swim on Saturday night. Daniel Salovesh (Casa Grande, Ariz./Casa Grande Union) finished 16th overall with a time of 55.04 to give himself a shot at points in the consolation heat.

    Finals Portion of Saturday's Action:

    Despite Northwestern's `A' 200 medley relay being disqualified, the `B' relay team came in first for a great start to NU's evening. Shivakumar, Valcic, Halsall and Ratajczyk combined their efforts for a time of 1:33.28.

    Stellar performances by Rimkus, Donkersgoed, Wilimovsky, Seitz and Gerber ensured top eight finishes for these Wildcats in the 400 IM championship final. Rimkus led the group with a time of 3:51.48, which earned him an NCAA `B' consideration cut -- NU's first of the year. He was 10.09 seconds faster than his nearest competitor and just four seconds shy of his career-best in the event. All the Wildcats in the event racked up 75 points in the night's first individual event.

    Ferguson won the 100 fly and improved his season best time to 49.22. Teammate Halsall finished second, just .39 of a second after Ferguson.

    Northwestern continued its point domination as Rimkus, Stephens, Cubelic and Ratajczyk finish in the top eight overall in the 200 free. Rimkus earned his 20 first place points in 1:39.35, out-racing a tight top-three that saw North Dakota freshman Aaron Chanas-Larue and Stephens separated by just .49 of a second. Wilimovsky, Shivakumar, Wilcox and Seitz earned the `Cats points in the consolation heat.

    Donkersgoed earned a third-place finish in the 100 breaststroke with a time of 57.20. Fellow Wildcat Sears finished fifth overall. Gerber won the consolation heat in 59.83. Smith and Valcic added to the Wildcats' point total with 15th and 16th overall finishes.

    Northwestern's divers went 2-3 in Saturday's 3-meter springboard competition. Tanner Nemkov (Littleton, Colo./Heritage) qualified for the finals third overall before moving up to second with a score of 272.45 while Nick Pinkerton (Hudson, Ohio/Hudson) tallied a finals score of 267.85 to place third overall.

    Ferguson, Cubelic, Halsall and Shivakumar swept the top four positions in the 100 backstroke championship final. Ferguson had another first place finish with a time of 49.16. Salovesh cruised into a first place finish in the consolation final with his personal-best of 52.26, faster than any other competitor by 2.03 seconds.

    The `Cats ended the night with a first place finish in the 800 free relay in 6:45.56. Ferguson, Cubelic, Stephens and Rimkus beat the second place team by 4.10 seconds and earned another 40 points towards the team total.


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!