Official Store

    Three Wildcats Named to All-Big Ten Teams

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Northwestern at the Big Ten Honors Banquet at Ohio Stadium.
    Northwestern at the Big Ten Honors Banquet at Ohio Stadium.

    Nov. 14, 2013

    COLUMBUS, Ohio – Five Northwestern players earned Big Ten honors this season as the Big Ten Conference announced its player of the year honors and All-Big Ten Teams today during the Big Ten Men’s Soccer Tournament in Columbus, Ohio.

    Forward Joey Calistri and midfielder Chris Ritter were named to the All-Big Ten First Team at their respective positions and on defense, Nikko Boxall made All-Big Ten Second Team.



    In addition, midfielder Brandon Medina was a unanimous selection to the All-Freshman Team and senior Lepe Seetane earned a spot as a Sportsmanship Award Honoree.  

    Calistri, the 2012 Big Ten Freshman of the Year, has now been named All-Big Ten First Team for each of his first two seasons with the Wildcats. Calistri’s 12 goals and 28 points this season lead the Big Ten and rank in the top ten nationally. Earlier in the season in the NIU Tournament, Calistri registered a hat-trick with three goals against Green Bay.

    Ritter was named to the All-Big Ten First Team for the second consecutive season. A redshirt senior and Wildcats team leader, Ritter was a strong presence in the middle of the field for NU, both as a scoring threat and tough defender. He ranks second on the team with five goals and 14 points this season.

    Boxall, a 2013 All-Big Ten Second Team selection, has now earned All-Big Ten honors in each of his first three seasons. A strong and solid defender for the ‘Cats, Boxall was a mainstay in the back line this season, helping NU record nine shutouts on the season, tied for the second most in the Big Ten. Boxall also recorded one goal and one assist this year.

    Medina, a unanimous choice on the All-Freshman Team, has his first season cut short after a knee injury after just 11 games. However, he still recorded five assists, to rank second for the Wildcats this season. Medina tallied three goals—two game winners—including an exciting score to defeat DePaul in double overtime, giving NU its first victory of the season.

    Seetane was named as a Sportsmanship Award Honoree. He ranked tied for third on the team with four assists and added another goal for the ‘Cats.

    After defeating No. 13 Wisconsin, the No. 2 seed in the Big Ten Tournament, 2-1 on Wednesday, Northwestern will play No. 20 Michigan State Friday at 1:30 p.m. CT in the Big Ten Tournament Semifinals at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium in Columbus, Ohio.

    Coach of the Year: Bob Warming, Penn State
    Offensive Player of the Year: Tomislav Zadro, Wisconsin
    Defensive Player of the Year: AJ Cochran, Wisconsin
    Midfielder of the Year: Tyler Arnone, Michigan
    Goalkeeper of the Year: Andrew Wolverton, Penn State
    Freshman of the Year: Tommy Thompson, Indiana 

    All-Big Ten First Team
    Tim Kreutz, Michigan State                                       
    Joey Calistri, Northwestern                                         
    Jordan Tyler, Penn State                                            
    Nick Janus, Wisconsin 

    TYLER ARNONE, Michigan                                      
    Jay Chapman, Michigan State                                  
    Chris Ritter, Northwestern                                     
    Tomislav Zadro, Wisconsin

    KEVIN COPE, Michigan State          
    Martin Seiler, Penn State                                            
    AJ COCHRAN, Wisconsin 

    Andrew Wolverton, Penn State   

    All-Big Ten Second Team
    Tommy Thompson, Indiana
    Adam Montague, Michigan State
    Owen Griffith, Penn State 

    A.J. Corrado, Indiana
    Nikita Kotlov, Indiana
    Drew Conner, Wisconsin 

    Jacob Bushue, Indiana
    Nikko Boxall, Northwestern
    Sage Gardner, Ohio State 

    Alex Ivanov, Ohio State 

    All-Freshman Team*
    LARS ECKENRODE, D/M, Michigan
    Brian Hail, MF/F, Wisconsin
    ANDREW HERR, M, Michigan State
    DANNY JENSEN, F, Ohio State
    Nick Jones, F, Wisconsin
    Tyler Kidwell, D, Ohio State
    MASON KLERKS, M, Penn State
    DEWEY LEWIS, F, Michigan State
    CONNOR MALONEY, F, Penn State
    Brandon Medina, M, Northwestern
    TOMMY THOMPSON, F, Indiana
    RYLEE WOODS, D, Michigan 

    *Additional honoree due to tie
    Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS 

    Sportsmanship Award Honorees
    Matt McKain, Indiana
    Malcolm Miller, Michigan
    Wesley Curtis, Michigan State
    Lepe Seetane, Northwestern
    Sage Gardner, Ohio State
    Grant Warming, Penn State
    Max Jentsch, Wisconsin


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!