Official Store

    Matt Eliason, Maria Mosolova Selected to Receive Big Ten Medal of Honor

    Matt Eliason, the all-time leading scorer in Northwestern men's soccer history, is this year's male Medal of Honor award winner.

    Matt Eliason, the all-time leading scorer in Northwestern men's soccer history, is this year's male Medal of Honor award winner.

    June 8, 2011

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- Northwestern seniors Matt Eliason (Lombard, Ill./Glenbard East) of the men's soccer team and Maria Mosolova (Moscow, Russia/No. 204) of the women's tennis team have been named Northwestern's recipients of the 2010-11 Big Ten Medal of Honor. Each Big Ten school annually recognizes one male and one female athlete who have distinguished themselves athletically and academically.

    Eliason departs Northwestern as the school's all-time leader in both goals scored (33) and points (82). He earned a trio of All-Big Ten accolades during his career, including twice being named a first-team selection. A second-team All-America pick of Top Drawer Soccer following his sophomore campaign, Eliason was named to the watch list for the Hermann Trophy, college soccer's top individual honor, prior to his senior year.

    He guided the Wildcats to three NCAA tournament berths with the team advancing to the quarterfinal round in 2008. A communication studies major, Eliason also shined in the classroom. He was named a second-team ESPN the Magazine/CoSIDA Academic All-American and a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar in 2009 and was a three-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree.

    Mosolova completed her career as the second four-time ITA Singles All-American in Northwestern history and played the No. 1 spot on NU teams that won Big Ten Tournament titles all four years of her career. A two-time Big Ten Player of the Year and the 2011 ITA Midwest Region Senior of the Year, Mosolova advanced at least as far as the round of 16 of the NCAA Singles Championship four times and spent time ranked as the No. 1 singles player in the nation as a sophomore and junior.

    As a team, Northwestern thrived with Mosolova leading the way, winning back-to-back ITA National Indoor Team championships in 2009 and 2010. Mosolova also helped guide the Wildcats to the round of 16 in the NCAA Championship four times, a run that was highlighted by two berths in the national quarterfinals. After a senior campaign in which she finished 34-7, Mosolova concluded her years at NU with an overall singles record of 143-35, including a 33-3 mark in Big Ten dual matches.

    Mosolova also was a three-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree and a 2009 ITA Scholor-Athlete.

    The tandem will receive their honors at the 2011 N Club Induction and Senior Recognition banquet on Thursday, June 16.

    2011 Big Ten Medal of Honor Recipients

    Scott Langley, Men's Golf
    Hillary Haen, Women's Volleyball

    Ben Chappell, Football
    Vera Neuenswander, Women's Track & Field

    Julian Vandervelde, Football
    Bethany Praska, Women's Track & Field

    Carl Hagelin, Men's Ice Hockey
    Sarah Curtis, Women's Gymnastics

    Michigan State
    Brandon Eckerle, Baseball
    Aimee Neff, Women's Golf

    Mike Thorn, Wrestling
    Kaylee Jamison, Women's Swimming & Diving

    Matt Eliason, Men's Soccer
    Maria Mosolova, Women's Tennis

    Ohio State
    Steven Kehoe, Men's Volleyball
    Cassie Dickerson, Women's Soccer

    Penn State
    Stefen Wisniewski, Football
    Jessica Babcock, Women's Track & Field

    Kyle Adams, Football
    Allie Smith, Women's Swimming & Diving

    Gabe Carimi, Football
    Maggie Meyer, Women's Swimming & Diving


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook! and subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter to receive the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!