Official Store

    Calistri Scores Twice to Lead Northwestern Past Hofstra, 3-0

    Aug. 31, 2014

    Final Stats |  Photo Gallery 


    Game Photo
    Hofstra Northwestern 3, Hofstra 0
    Lakeside Field • Evanston, Ill.

    Box Score  |  Box Score Get    Acrobat  Reader


     Northwestern Men's Soccer Online
    @NUMensSoccer   |  Facebook
    Buy Tickets | Group Tickets Open PDF | Printable Schedule Open PDF

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- Joey Calistri scored a pair of goals including the match's first 10 seconds into the second half as Northwestern claimed the Lakeside Classic title with a 3-0 victory over Hofstra at Lakeside Field Sunday afternoon.

    The tally was the second in as many games for the Big Ten's leading scorer a year ago. Coupled with a 2-0 win over Quinnipiac on Friday night, Sunday's victory allowed the 'Cats to win their own tournament.

    Neither team was able to tally in the opening half. NU forced Hofstra keeper Patric Pray to make three saves, but the most impressive stop came courtesy of NU keeper Tyler Miller who make a diving denial of Mario Ruiz with under four minutes left in the stanza.

    Whatever Northwestern head coach Tim Lenahan drew up at halftime worked as the Wildcats got the game-winner from Calistri just 10 seconds into the period off assists from Elo Ozumba and Nikko Boxall.

    NU kept the pressure on the Pride and after after multiple close calls, the Wildcats got an insurance goal at 76:04. Mike Roberge's initial shot was saved by Pray and the rebound came to Henry Herrill who fed the ball to Cole Missimo for a goal that made it 2-0.

    Northwestern got one final goal at 80:45 as Calistri took a feed from Boxall and finished past Pray for his second tally of the match and third of the season.

    Miller made two saves to earn his second shutout of the season. With the clean slate, Miller tied the Northwestern career record with his 29th shutout. NU finished with a 16-6 advantage in shots.

    The Wildcats return to action at 9 p.m. Central time Friday as they travel to UC Santa Barbara.

    Lakeside Classic All-Tournament Team
    Nikko Boxall - Northwestern (co-MVP)
    Joey Calistri - Northwestern (co-MVP)
    Tyler Miller - Northwestern
    Cole Missimo - Northwestern
    Chris Paton - Northern Illinois
    Dusty Page - Northern Illinois
    Len Heinson - Northern Illinois
    Daniel Grundei - Hofstra
    Harri Hawkins - Hofstra
    James Doig - Quinnipiac
    James Greco - Quinnipiac


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter and Instagram, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!