Official Store

    NU to Host the 17th Windon Memorial at The Knollwood Club

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM 2012 Windon champion John Callahan will defend his title next week at The Knollwood Club.
    2012 Windon champion John Callahan will defend his title next week at The Knollwood Club.

    Sept. 11, 2013

    Windon History/Records Get Acrobat Reader

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- Northwestern will stage the 17th playing of the Windon Memorial Classic Sunday and Monday, Sept. 22-23, at The Knollwood Club in Lake Forest, Ill. The 16-team field will play 36 holes Sunday before the final round on Monday.

    Reigning U.S. Amateur champion and current No. 1 in the World Amateur Golf Ranking Matt Fitzpatrick (Sheffield, England/Tapton) will make his Windon debut as a Northwestern freshman, joining Wildcats' All-American Jack Perry (Santa Barbara, Calif./Santa Barbara) and NU senior John Callahan (Hinsdale, Ill./Benet Academy), the defending Windon Memorial champion.

    Live results will be available at while head coach Pat Goss will provide live coaching updates from the course via Twitter @NUGolf_Live.

    In addition to Northwestern, Big Ten schools Iowa, Michigan, Ohio State, Penn State and Purdue are among the field. 2013 NCAA 10th-place finisher Arkansas, Coastal Carolina, Kent State, North Texas, DePaul, Lamar, Tulsa, Harvard, Marquette and UC Davis round out the field. Sunday's action will start with a 9 a.m. CT shotgun before tee times for Monday's final round beginning at 8 a.m. CT.

    Located on 240 rolling acres in Lake Forest, Ill., and designed by J.S. Colt and C.H. Alison in 1924, The Knollwood Club has hosted both the USGA's Amateur and Mid-Amateur Championships and is hosting the Windon Memorial for the first time since 2000 when Hunter Mahan won the individual title.

    Ohio State is the reigning team champion after besting Northwestern by a single stroke at Skokie Country Club in 2012. NU's Callahan drained a 25-foot birdie putt on the 54th hole to win medalist honors playing as an individual.

    The Windon has an illustrious history, with current PGA TOUR members Luke Donald, Joe Ogilvie, Tiger Woods, Gary Woodland and Ben Curtis finishing as runners-up in the event. Donald and current PGA TOUR members Mahan and Colt Knost are past champions. For more on the history of the Windon Memorial Classic, first held in 1993 as the Quintessence Classic, download the .pdf at the top of this page.


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!