Official Store

    Eric Chun Named Big Ten Freshman of the Year

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Eric Chun is Northwestern's fourth Big Ten Freshman of the Year.
    Eric Chun is Northwestern's fourth Big Ten Freshman of the Year.

    May 5, 2009

    2009 Conference All-Big Ten Release (PDF Format) Get Acrobat Reader

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- Northwestern's 2009 Big Ten individual champion Eric Chun (Ansung City, South Korea/International Christian School) has been named the conference's Freshman of the Year, announced today (May 5) by the league office.

    Chun became the first freshman to win medalist honors at the Big Ten Championships since Illinois' Steve Stricker in 1986 when he was the only competitor to finish under par with a total of 1-under 283. He had five top-20 finishes in his first collegiate season including three top-10 performances.

    Chun is the fourth Wildcat to be named Big Ten Freshman of the Year since 1988 when the award began. Chun joins Scott Rowe (1994), Matt Seppanen (1995) and Tom Johnson (2001) as Northwestern's winners of the honor.

    Chun and junior David Lipsky (La Canada, Calif./La Canada) both were named to the All-Big Ten second team by a vote of the conference coaches. The honors are the first for both players and mark the fifth time in school history and fourth time under head coach Pat Goss that multiple Wildcats have won All-Big Ten accolades in the same season. NU has had an All-Big Ten honoree in 11 of Goss' 13 seasons at the helm of the program.

    Lipsky recorded six top-20 finishes in 2008-09 including three top-10 efforts. He has paced NU with 12 rounds of par or better and a 72.68 stroke average, currently the ninth-best single-season stroke average in school history.

    In addition, Northwestern senior Andy DeKeuster (Franksville, Wis./Racine Lutheran) was named Northwestern's Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honoree.