NORTHWESTERN WILDCATS

Official Store

    Northwestern Brings Last Two Medalists to 2011 Big Ten Championships

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM David Lipsky is the defending Big Ten individual champion.
    NUSPORTSDOTCOM
    David Lipsky is the defending Big Ten individual champion.
    NUSPORTSDOTCOM

    April 28, 2011

    Northwestern's 2011 Big Ten Championships Notes Package (PDF Format) Get Acrobat Reader

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- Northwestern enters the 2011 Big Ten Championships April 29-May 1 in West Lafayette, Ind., boasting the two most recent individual conference champions its lineup. With 2010 titlist David Lipsky and 2009 medalist Eric Chun at the helm, the Wildcats are aiming to add a team trophy to their mantel in 2011.

    The tournament will be held on the links-style Kampen Course at the Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex. Northwestern last played on the course at the 2010 Boilermaker Invitational. Live scoring for the 2011 Big Ten Championships is available at Golfstat.com.

    In addition to Lipsky and Chun, Northwestern's lineup this weekend features freshman Jack Perry, sophomore Nick Losole and senior Josh Dupont.

    In the last 11 years, Northwestern has won a combined nine team and individual Big Ten championships. Though Wildcats have won the two most recent conference individual crowns, the last team title to reside in Evanston came in 2006.

    In a mini-preview of this weekend's tournament, 10 of the 11 Big Ten schools were in action together two weeks ago at the Illini Spring Classic. There, Northwestern finished second among its conference brethren behind host Illinois. NU defeated then-top-50 Golfstat ranked foes No. 25 Ohio State, No. 35 Indiana, No. 40 Michigan and No. 44 Purdue. Only Iowa did not participate.

    While Lipsky has been a steady performer all season for Northwestern with five top-20 finishes and a tournament victory at the UNCG Bridgestone Golf Collegiate in the fall, Chun has struggled to find his game in the spring. The junior rebounded in a big way ahead of this week's event, however, finishing second overall at the weather-shortened Illini Spring Classic with an even-par 144.

    In terms of NCAA Regional selection, the Wildcats will solidify a berth with a strong performance this weekend. NU sat right on the .500 cut line prior to its strong 3rd-place finish at the Illini two weeks ago.

    LIVE SCORING

    Live scoring is available at Golfstat.com. Live tweets from the course are available from head coach Pat Goss at @NUGolf_LIVE.

    SCHEDULE AND TEE TIMES

    Friday, April 29
    First and Second Rounds

    Northwestern's Tee Times
    Josh Dupont, 9:04 a.m. ET/8:04 a.m. CT
    Nick Losole, 9:12 a.m. ET/8:12 a.m. CT
    Jack Perry, 9:20 a.m. ET/8:20 a.m. CT
    David Lipsky, 9:28 a.m. ET/8:28 a.m. CT
    Eric Chun, 9:36 a.m. ET/8:36 a.m. CT

    Saturday, April 30
    Third Round (tee times according to score)

    Sunday, May 1
    Fourth Round (tee times according to score)

    ••••••

    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook! and subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter to receive the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!