Official Store

    Wildcats Finish Strong, Place Third at Big Ten Championships

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Freshman Kyle Moore earned Big Ten All-Championships honors in his first collegiate conference tourney.
    Freshman Kyle Moore earned Big Ten All-Championships honors in his first collegiate conference tourney.

    May 8, 2005

    VERONA, Wis. -- Freshman Kyle Moore (Dublin, Ohio/Dublin Scioto) fired a career-best 6-under 66 in Sunday's final round of the Big Ten Championships, helping Northwestern shoot a third-round-best 9-under 279. Despite the strong finish, the Wildcats were unable to overtake champion Michigan State and runner-up Indiana and placed third with an 11-under 853 (294-280-279).

    Northwestern will find out Monday if its strong play in the final two weeks was enough to garner an at-large berth in the NCAA Championships. The Wildcats' last two rounds of golf produced its best team scores of the year.

    Moore was trying to become the third Big Ten player this weekend to tie the course record of 7-under 65. Big Ten champion Jeff Overton of Indiana fired 65's in the first and second rounds, while tourney runner-up Ryan Brehm of Michigan State shot a 65 on Saturday. Moore, who finished third overall at 7-under (72-71-66=209) and 10 strokes behind Overton, was 7-under after producing birdies on the 12th and 16th holes. Moore's lone two bogeys -- on 13 and 17 -- prevented him from tying the course's 18-hole record. For his top-five finish, Moore earned Big Ten All-Championship honors.

    Sophomore Chris Wilson (Dublin, Ohio/Dublin Coffman) was one of four Wildcats to place among the top 13 finishers. Wilson, who was named a second-team All-Big Ten selection, carded an even-par 216 (70-74-72) for the tourney.

    Freshman Dan Doyle (Rochester, Mich./Stoney Creek) followed up Saturday's career-best 4-under 68 with a 1-under 71 on Sunday. He equaled Wilson's finish with an even-par 216 (77-68-71).

    Sophomore David Merkow (Hartland, Wis./Arrowhead Union) closed the tourney with back-to-back 70's to finish in 10th place at 1-under (75-70-70=215).



    Junior Dillon Dougherty (Woodland, Calif./Woodland) placed 36th with a 6-over 222 (78-71-73).

    Michigan State won its first Big Ten men's golf championship in 31 years. The Spartans, who were the tourney's top seed, finished six strokes in front of the Wildcats and five ahead of Indiana.

    After the conclusion of the 2005 Big Ten Men's Golf Championships, the conference honored the regular and postseason award winners.

    Second Team All-Big Ten
    Ryan Brehm, Michigan State
    Chris Wilson, Northwestern
    Peter Richardson, Purdue
    Garrett Chaussard, Illinois
    Josh Persons, Minnesota
    Pariya Junhasavasdikul, Purdue

    First Team All-Big Ten
    Jeff Overton, Indiana
    Matt Harmon, Michigan State
    Bronson La'Cassie, Minnesota
    Andrew Ruthkoski, Michigan State
    Scott Anderson, Ohio State
    Mark Leon, Penn State

    Les Bolstad Award
    (for low season stroke average)
    Jeff Overton, Indiana, 69.87

    Freshman of the Year: Ryan Brehm, Michigan State
    Player of the Year: Jeff Overton, Indiana
    Coach of the Year: Mark Hankins, Michigan State

    All-Championship Team
    Jeff Overton, Indiana, -17
    Ryan Brehm, Michigan State, -13
    Matt Harmon, Michigan State, -7
    Kyle Moore, Northwestern, -7
    Mark Leon, Penn State, -6

    Final results are available for the tournament by linking to Big Ten Men's Golf Championships. Other tournament information can be found at Big Ten Men's Golf and Wisconsin Men's Golf.