Official Store

    Northwestern Sits in Seventh Place at Big Ten Championships Heading into Final Round

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM David Merkow is in 10th place at the 88th Big Ten Championships.
    David Merkow is in 10th place at the 88th Big Ten Championships.

    April 28, 2007

    COLUMBUS, Ohio -- Northwestern's bid for a second straight Big Ten title and its fifth in nine years took a hit on Saturday as the Wildcats dropped from a fourth-place tie into seventh place, 19 strokes behind the team leader, Michigan State.

    After posting opening rounds of 298 and 303 on the par-71 OSU Scarlet Course, Northwestern carded a 23-over 307 on Saturday. Michigan State, which trailed Purdue in the team race after Friday's action, vaulted into the team lead by firing a 12-over 296 and now holds a six-stroke lead over the Boilermakers heading into Sunday's final round.

    Seniors David Merkow (Hartland, Wis./Arrowhead Union) and Chris Wilson (Dublin, Ohio/Dublin Coffman), along with junior Kyle Moore (Dublin, Ohio/Dublin Scioto), all carded a 5-over 76 on Saturday. Merkow, who began the day in eighth place, maintained his top-10 standing and is now 10th with an 11-over 224 (73-75-76).

    Wilson, the defending Big Ten medalist, is in 13th place with a 12-over 225 (74-75-76). Moore moved up five spots to 41st and is 21-over (78-80-76=234).

    Junior Dan Doyle (Rochester, Mich./Stoney Creek), in the hunt for a top-20 finish, is 16-over (75-75-79=229) and in 25th place.

    Freshman Jonathan Bowers (Columbus, Ohio/Bishop Watterson), one of three Wildcats playing in front of a hometown crowd, is 45th overall with a 22-over 235 (76-78-81).

    Purdue's Pariya Junhasavasdikul remained the Big Ten individual leader after shooting a 2-over 73 on Saturday. He holds a three-stroke lead (1-over 214) over Michigan State's Ryan Brehm (4-over 217) as the tournament moves into its final round.



    For more information on the 2007 Big Ten Men's Golf Championships and second-day results, visit Big Ten Men's Golf Championships or Ohio State Men's Golf Championship site.