Official Store

    Northwestern Announces 2013 Team Award Winners

    Tyler Scott was named both the 2013 Northwestern Football MVP and the recipient of the Bryan Paynter "Ultimate Wildcat" Award.

    Tyler Scott was named both the 2013 Northwestern Football MVP and the recipient of the Bryan Paynter "Ultimate Wildcat" Award.

    Dec. 6, 2013

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- Northwestern head coach Pat Fitzgerald announced Friday the 2013 recipients of the program's annual team awards. Senior co-captain and second-team All-Big Ten defensive end Tyler Scott took home 2013 Most Valuable Player honors after leading Northwestern in sacks (6.0) and tackles for loss (10.0) on the year.

    The Ohio native, who also was Northwestern's Defensive MVP a year ago, was named NU's Defensive Player of the Game four times during Big Ten play in 2013, anchoring a unit that ranked fourth in the conference with 74.0 tackles for loss in 2013.

    Scott also is this year's recipient of the Bryan Paynter "Ultimate Wildcat" Award.

    The Wildcats also named their Offensive and Defensive Newcomers of the Year, which this season went to redshirt freshman RB Stephen Buckley and CB Matthew Harris, respectively. Buckley emerged as a playmaker in the Northwestern backfield, averaging 5.3 yards per carry and netting a season-high 99 yards at Iowa on Oct. 26 before sustaining a season-ending knee injury at Nebraska a week later.



    Harris, one of two true freshmen to see the field in 2013, played in all 12 games and immediately became a key contributor after a season-ending injury to opening-day starter at corner Daniel Jones. Also valuable on kick returns and kick coverage, Harris made his first career start at cornerback at Iowa and went on to start each of the last five games, totaling 36 tackles and five pass breakups on the year.

    The complete list of 2013 Northwestern Football team award recipients is as follows:

    2013 Northwestern Football Team Awards


    GEORGE W. BALLANTINE AWARD (For the player who demonstrates the enthusiasm and leadership which exemplifies Ballantine's contributions to NU Football): Will Hampton, DT

    THOMAS AIRTH SPIRIT AWARD (Presented to a football player whose spirit and enthusiasm have inspired teammates, coaches and fans throughout the season): Rashad Lawrence, WR

    CARNIG MINASIAN CITIZENSHIP AWARD (Awarded to the player who has been an outstanding citizen on campus, in practice and on the field): Jeff Budzien, PK

    MARCEL PRICE AWARD (For the player who best exhibits the enthusiasm and dedication to the Wildcat program that is symbolic of Price's desire): Damien Proby, LB

    RASHIDI WHEELER AWARD (For the player with the spirit and enthusiasm that Wheeler embodied): Mike Trumpy, RB

    BRYAN PAYNTER "ULTIMATE WILDCAT" AWARD (For a player who serves as an example by confronting adversity with courage and dedication and always putting the needs of the team first): Tyler Scott, DE

    WILDCAT WARRIOR AWARD (In recognition of outstanding work ethic, toughness and attitude): Mike Jensen, WR, and Kain Colter, QB

    Offense: Stephen Buckley, RB
    Defense: Matthew Harris, CB

    For a list of all-time recipients of Northwestern's team awards, click here.Get Acrobat Reader


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!