Official Store

    Budzien Repeats as Top B1G Kicker; Six Total 'Cats Recognized

    DE Tyler Scott, seen here returning one of his two INTs this season, is a second-team All-Big Ten honoree.

    DE Tyler Scott, seen here returning one of his two INTs this season, is a second-team All-Big Ten honoree.

    Dec. 2, 2013

    2013 All-Big Ten Teams and Special Award WinnersGet Acrobat Reader

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- After sharing the award a season ago, Northwestern senior place-kicker Jeff Budzien has been named the outright winner of the 2013 Bakken-Andersen Big Ten Kicker of the Year and a consensus first-team All-Big Ten selection, the conference announced Monday.

    Budzien and senior defensive end Tyler Scott received top honors for the Wildcats, with Scott closing his Northwestern career by earning second-team All-Big Ten accolades. Four additional 'Cats -- junior LB Chi Chi Ariguzo, junior SAF Ibraheim Campbell, senior LB Damien Proby and junior OL Brandon Vitabile -- were named honorable mention All-Big Ten at their position.

    Budzien's honor caps a record-setting career for the Wisconsin native, one in which Budzien broke Northwestern standards for single-season field goals (23, 2013), career field goal percentage (.873), consecutive field goals made (17), career points scored (280) and most consecutive PATs made (136).

    This season, Budzien ranked No. 1 in the country in field goals made (23) and was tied for second nationally in accuracy among kickers with at least 20 attempts (92.0 percent), while his 104 points were the most by any Big Ten kicker.

    Scott, who was an honorable mention selection last season, earned the second-team nod following a senior campaign in which he led the Wildcats with 6.0 sacks and 10.0 tackles for loss while also adding two interceptions, two forced fumbles and one fumble recovery. His 16.0 career sacks rank sixth all-time at NU and his 28.5 TFL's were just 0.5 shy of matching Napoleon Harris for 10th place.

    Scott was voted an honorable mention choice by the league coaches.

    Details on NU's four additional honorable mention honorees may be found below:

    Chi Chi Ariguzo, LB (Media): Earning honorable mention accolades for a second straight year, Ariguzo again was a ball-hawking linebacker for the Wildcats, tying for the team lead with four interceptions while ranking second on the team with his first career 100-tackle season (106).

    Ibraheim Campbell, S (Coaches, Media): As the veteran leader in a young secondary, Campbell anchored the unit with a team-high-tying four interceptions while knocking down five other passes.

    Damien Proby, LB (Media): Proby paced the Wildcats and ranked fourth in the Big Ten with 112 tackles in his senior season, also picking up two forced fumbles and an interception return for a touchdown, en route to honorable mention honors for a second year in a row. The Nevada native became the first NU player to top 300 career tackles (304) since Brian Peters graduated with 301 in 2011.

    Brandon Vitabile, OL (Coaches, Media): Earning his first career Big Ten accolade, Vitabile was the veteran returner to an offensive line that graduated three starters a year ago. The Rimington Award candidate led a unit that helped leading rusher Treyvon Green average 5.4 yards per carry on the season and provided protection for a Northwestern passing attack that ranked fifth in the conference in yards per game.

    The complete list of 2013 All-Big Ten honorees and special award recipients is available in a PDF at the top of the page.


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!