Official Store

    Damien Anderson Named All-America

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Damien Anderson received All-America honors from the FWAA
    Damien Anderson received All-America honors from the FWAA

    Nov. 20, 2000

    EVANSTON, Ill. - Northwestern junior running back Damien Anderson (Wilmington, Ill./Wilmington) was named to the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) All-America Team. The announcement was made today.

    The FWAA has announced an All-America team since the 1944 season. It is the second longest continuously published team in major-college football.

    Anderson, who helped lead the Wildcats to a share of the Big Ten title and a spot in the SYLVANIA Alamo Bowl, set several school records this season. Prominent among them were the single-season records for rushing yards (1,914) and touchdowns (22). He finished second nationally in rushing with 174.0 yards per game, and shattered Lorenzo White's Big Ten records for rushing yards (1,549) and rushing average (193.6) in conference games. Most amazingly, Anderson set the conference marks with 54 fewer carries than White needed in 1985. Overall this season, Anderson averaged a staggering 6.5 yards per carry in 2000.

    Anderson had four games over the 200-yard mark, a school record, including a 292-yard day against Indiana that was the third-best rushing day in school history and a 268-yard day against Michigan that was the best individual rushing performance ever against a Wolverine defense by 67 yards. He also had four-touchdown games against Indiana and Illinois, tying a single-game mark in the process.

    With one full season still to play, Anderson has 3,579 yards rushing which leaves him 214 yards shy of Darnell Autry's all-time school rushing record.


    QB - Josh Heupel, Oklahoma
    RB - Damien Anderson, Northwestern
    RB - LaDainian Tomlinson, TCU
    TE - Brian Natkin, Texas El-Paso
    WR - Marvin Minnis, Florida State
    WR - Antonio Bryant, Pittsburgh
    C - Dominic Raiola, Nebraska
    OL - Chris Brown, Georgia Tech
    OL - Steve Hutchinson, Michigan
    OL - Leonard Davis, Texas
    OL - Joaquin Gonzalez, Miami, Fla.
    K - Jonathon Ruffin, Cincinnati
    KR - Santana Moss, Miami, Fla.

    DL - Jamal Reynolds, Florida State
    DL - John Henderson, Tennessee
    DL - Justin Smith, Missouri
    DL - Andre Carter, California
    LB - Levar Fisher, North Carolina State
    LB - Dan Morgan, Miami, Fla.
    LB - Rocky Calmus, Oklahoma
    DB - Jamar Fletcher, Wisconsin
    DB - Dwight Smith, Akron
    DB - Edward Reed, Miami, Fla.
    DB - Lito Sheppard, Florida
    P - Brian Morton, Duke