Official Store

    Northwestern Trio Set to Join Conference Brethren at Big Ten Media Day

    Kain Colter will be in Chicago July 26-27 to meet fans and the media at the annual Big Ten Football Media Day & Kickoff Luncheon.

    Kain Colter will be in Chicago July 26-27 to meet fans and the media at the annual Big Ten Football Media Day & Kickoff Luncheon.

    July 11, 2012

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- With Northwestern's 2012 season-opener at Syracuse just six weeks away, the Big Ten announced on Wednesday the 36 players who will represent their teams at the 41st Annual Big Ten Media Day and Kickoff Luncheon, set for July 26-27 at the Hyatt Regency McCormick Place Convention Center in Chicago.

    Heading downtown with head coach Pat Fitzgerald for Northwestern will be a pair of seniors, linebacker David Nwabuisi and offensive lineman Brian Mulroe, along with junior quarterback Kain Colter. Mulroe and Colter are among the 21 players heading to Media Day who garnered All-Big Ten accolades during the 2011 season.

    On Thursday, Fitzgerald and the players will make the rounds with the national and Chicagoland media in attendance, sitting down for on-camera interviews with ESPN, CBS, Big Ten Network and fielding questions from hundreds of credentialed print and online media.



    Friday's Kickoff Luncheon features all 12 conference head coaches and begins at 10 a.m. CT with the players and coaches autograph and photo session for fans attending the luncheon. The luncheon is scheduled to begin at 11:30 a.m., with comments from all 12 coaches and returning All-Big Ten quarterback Denard Robinson of Michigan, who will speak on behalf of the players in attendance.

    Be sure to stay tuned in to and all of its digital platforms on both days for complete behind-the-scenes coverage of Big Ten Media Day and the Kickoff Luncheon.

    2012 Big Ten Media Day and Kickoff Luncheon Attendees

    James Ferentz, Sr., C*
    Micah Hyde, Sr., DB*
    James Vandenberg, Sr., QB

    Jordan Kovacs, Sr., S*
    Taylor Lewan, Jr., OT*
    Denard Robinson, Sr., QB*

    Max Bullough, Jr., LB*
    Andrew Maxwell, Jr., QB
    Chris Norman, Sr., LB*

    Keanon Cooper, Sr., LB
    MarQueis Gray, Sr., QB
    Ed Olson, Jr., OL

    Rex Burkhead, Sr., RB*
    Will Compton, Sr., LB*
    Kyler Reed, Sr., TE

    Kain Colter, Jr., QB*
    Brian Mulroe, Sr., OL*
    David Nwabuisi, Sr., LB

    Michael Buchanan, Sr., DE*
    Graham Pocic, Sr., C*
    Nathan Scheelhaase, Jr., QB

    Larry Black, Jr., Sr., DT
    Will Matte, Sr., C
    Adam Replogle, Sr., DT

    Zach Boren, Sr., FB
    Etienne Sabino, Sr., LB
    John Simon, Sr., DL*

    Jordan Hill, Sr., DT*
    Silas Redd, Jr., TB*
    John Urschel, Jr., OG

    Ricardo Allen, Jr., CB*
    Kawann Short, Sr., DT*
    Caleb Terbush, Sr., QB

    Montee Ball, Sr., RB*
    Mike Taylor, Sr., LB*
    Ricky Wagner, Sr., LT*

    * -- Indicates previous All-Big Ten selection


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook! and subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter to receive the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!