Official Store

    Crawford Named Candidate for Senior CLASS Award

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Drew Crawford has been actively involved in a wide variety of community service efforts.
    Drew Crawford has been actively involved in a wide variety of community service efforts.

    Oct. 31, 2012

    EVANSTON, Ill. - Northwestern senior forward Drew Crawford (Naperville, Ill./Naperville Central) has been named one of 30 national candidates for the Senior CLASS Award.

    An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

    To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence - community, classroom, character and competition.

    An economics major, Crawford was named a CoSIDA second-team Academic-All-American as a junior. He is also a two-time Academic All-Big Ten and CoSIDA Academic All-District selection. On the court, Crawford earned third-team All-Big Ten recognition a year ago while ranking sixth in the conference with an average of 16.1 points per game. He enters his senior year ranked 16th in school history with 1,283 career points.

    Crawford has also been heavily involved in community service, including working with Special Olympics, Misericordia, Northwestern's Dance Marathon and Relay For Life, as well as making numerous visits to area schools as well as the Illinois Youth Center.

    He is one of five Big Ten players named nominees for the award, joining Wisconsin's Jared Berggren, Indiana's Jordan Hulls, Penn State's Tim Frazier and Illinois' Brandon Paul.

    The candidate class will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. 

    The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2013 NCAA Final Four® in Atlanta April 6 and 8.



    For more information on all the candidates, visit

    2012-13 Senior CLASS Award Nominees
    God'sgift Achiuwa, St. John's (N.Y.)
    O.D. Anosike, Siena
    Ben Averkamp, Loyola (Chicago)
    Brian Barbour, Columbia
    Jared Berggren, Wisconsin
    Isaiah Canaan, Murray State
    Drew Crawford, Northwestern
    Matthew Dellavedova, Saint Mary's
    Tim Frazier, Penn State
    Mike Groselle, The Citadel
    C.J. Harris, Wake Forest
    Jordan Hulls, Indiana
    Gabe Knutson, Lehigh
    JP Kuhlman, Davidson
    Andrew Lawrence, Charleston
    Jonathan Lee, Northeastern
    Scott Martin, Notre Dame
    C.J. McCollum, Lehigh
    Brock Motum, Washington State
    Mike Muscala, Bucknell
    Robert Olson, Loyola (Md.)
    Brandon Paul, Illinois
    Mason Plumlee, Duke
    Colt Ryan, Evansville
    Peyton Siva, Louisville
    Andrew Smith, Butler
    Michael Snaer, Florida State
    Marc Trasolini, Santa Clara
    Jeff Withey, Kansas
    Nate Wolters, South Dakota State


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!