NORTHWESTERN WILDCATS

Official Store

    Northwestern Announces 2003-04 Hoop Schedule

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Mohamed Hachad and the 'Cats open the season Nov. 21 at home
    NUSPORTSDOTCOM
    Mohamed Hachad and the 'Cats open the season Nov. 21 at home
    NUSPORTSDOTCOM

    Sept. 30, 2003

    2003-04 Men's Basketball Schedule in PDF Format
    Download Free Acrobat Reader

    EVANSTON, Ill. - Northwestern University today announced its 2003-04 men's basketball schedule. The Wildcats will play 27 regular-season games, including 13 at Welsh-Ryan Arena.

    Several highlights are once again included on the schedule, but perhaps the biggest news is that Northwestern will meet three of the four other Division I basketball programs in the city this year (Chicago State, DePaul and Illinois-Chicago). Northwestern will host Chicago State (Sunday, Nov. 23) and follow it up with DePaul at the Allstate Arena (Tuesday, Nov. 25). The 'Cats also will travel to the UIC Pavilion this season (Saturday, Dec. 20). This will be the second straight year NU has met UIC, and the fourth time in seven seasons Chicago State has been on the docket. However, the Wildcats and DePaul will be resuming a rivalry that has been on hiatus since 1997-98 (except for a 1999 NIT first-round game).

    The home schedule also includes a pair of 2003 NCAA Tournament teams -- Colorado from out of the Big 12 (Friday, Nov. 21 in the second half of a women's/men's doubleheader) and Arizona State, one of the preseason favorites in the Pac-10 Conference in 2003-04 (Wednesday, Dec. 17). The Sun Devils return Ike Diogu, last year's Pac-10 Freshman of the Year who was one of just two freshmen to earn All-America honors. The other was Carmelo Anthony of Syracuse, who has since moved on to the NBA.

    NU also will compete in the Sierra Providence SunClassic in El Paso, Texas, during the holiday week. The Wildcats will meet Big East member Rutgers in a first-round game Saturday, Dec. 27, following UTEP and Mississippi Valley State. The consolation and championship games will be played Sunday, Dec. 28.

    Northwestern is scheduled to be televised nationally two times this season -- on ESPN2 at Florida State to tip off the 2003 ACC/Big Ten Challenge (Monday, Dec. 1) and on ESPN2 at home against Penn State (Saturday, Feb. 14).

    Northwestern opens conference play Wednesday, Jan. 7 at Michigan. Following that, the Wildcats are on the road at Iowa but then play 12 straight games in a home-away format. The Wildcats will end Big Ten play with a pair of home games -- Wednesday, March 3 vs. Iowa and Saturday, March 6 vs. Michigan (the Michigan game could be moved to Sunday, March 7 for TV purposes).

    The Big Ten Tournament makes its second appearance in Indianapolis this year, taking place at Conseco Fieldhouse from March 11-14.

    The Wildcats play the following Big Ten teams once this season -- Minnesota (Saturday, Jan. 31) and two-time defending conference champion Wisconsin (Saturday, Feb. 7) will come to Welsh-Ryan, while NU will travel to Ohio State (Wednesday, Feb. 4) and Purdue (Wednesday, Feb. 11).