Official Store

    Gailey, Lederhausen Named NU's Big Ten Sportsmanship Award Recipients

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Matt Gaiey of the baseball team is Northwestern's overall male recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.
    Matt Gaiey of the baseball team is Northwestern's overall male recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

    June 3, 2011

    EVANSTON, Ill. - Twenty-two student-athletes have been named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2010-11 academic year by the Big Ten Conference. Senior Matt Gailey (Inverness, Ill./Fremd) of the baseball program was recognized as Northwestern's men's recipient, while senior Rebecca Lederhausen (Hinsdale, Ill./Hinsdale Central) of the women's golf team received the women's honor.

    The 22 overall winners of this year's award were chosen from a group of 276 student-athletes honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship.

    Gailey, a left-handed pitcher, recently completed his collegiate eligibility. He won two games and ranked second among all Northwestern pitchers with 23 appearances during the 2011 campaign. Lederhausen competed in 10 events for the Wildcats during her senior season, posting a season-best score of 227 at the Lady Northern Invitational to help NU to a second-place finish.

    One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. From each university's list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

    The 2011 Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners appear below.

    Bill Cole, Sr., Men's Basketball
    Nicole Kump, Sr., Volleyball

    Andy Bayer, So., Men's Cross Country
    Sara Olson, Sr., Softball

    Chris Brant, Jr., Men's Golf
    Kelsey Cermak, Sr., Women's Basketball

    Frank Shotwell, Sr., Men's Track and Field
    Dorian Shaw, Sr., Softball

    Michigan State
    Brandon Eckerle, Sr., Baseball
    Kathryn Mahoney, Sr., Women's Gymnastics

    Blake Hoffarber, Sr., Men's Basketball
    Dannie Skrove, Jr., Softball

    Matt Gailey, Sr., Baseball
    Rebecca Lederhausen, Sr., Women's Golf

    Ohio State
    Paul Beery, Sr., Men's Lacrosse
    Deborah Shim, Sr., Synchronized Swimming

    Penn State
    T.J. Howe, Sr., Men's Golf
    Maggie Dunbar, Sr., Women's Lacrosse

    Ryan Kerrigan, Sr., Football
    Jaclyn Hart, Sr., Volleyball

    Scott Tolzien, Sr., Football
    Meghan Duggan, Sr., Women's Ice Hockey


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook! and subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter to receive the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!