Official Store

    Three Wildcats Earn All-Big Ten Honors

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Jake Goebbert set a Northwestern record with 22 doubles this season en route to being named a second-team All-Big Ten pick.
    Jake Goebbert set a Northwestern record with 22 doubles this season en route to being named a second-team All-Big Ten pick.

    May 20, 2008

    EVANSTON, Ill. - Northwestern was represented by three individuals when the 2008 All-Big Ten Baseball Teams were announced Monday. Sophomore first baseman Jake Goebbert and freshman starting pitcher Eric Jokisch were named to the second team, while senior outfielder Mike Kalina was a third-team selection. In addition, Jokisch was honored as the conference's Freshman of the Year.

    A native of Virginia, Ill., Jokisch is the second Wildcat player to be named the top freshman since the award was created in 1988, joining Jeremy Kurella who earned the honor in 1998. The left-hander paced NU with an 8-2 record, a 4.17 ERA, 73.1 innings pitched and four complete games this season. Included in his season record was a 7-1 mark in conference play, with the seven wins being the most ever by a true freshman in Big Ten history. The league victory total matches Dan Brauer's team mark set in 2006. Perhaps Jokisch's finest effort of the season came in his final start of the year when he hurled a shutout in the Wildcats' 2-0 win at 17th-ranked and Big Ten regular season champion Michigan.

    Goebbert, a Hampshire, Ill., native, served as Northwestern's primary run producer this season. He ranked second on the team with a .353 batting average and was first with 10 home runs, 22 doubles, 48 runs batted in, a .665 slugging percentage and a .458 on-base percentage. His 22 doubles led the Big Ten during the regular season and broke a 31-year-old school season record (Kent McGuire - 21, 1977). Goebbert collected four hits and drove in six runs in a game twice this season, against Kansas March 23 and again six days later at Purdue March 29. He was also recognized as the team's recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

    A Munster, Ind., native, Kalina was Northwestern's leader in batting average this year. His mark of .384 ranks 10th in the Big Ten through the completion of the regular season. In 41 games played, Kalina totaled a team-leading 19 multiple-hit contests. He got off to a scorching start to the season, collecting multiple hits in each of the team's first eight games en route to a .583 average (21-36). His on-base percentage of .439 ranked second only to Goebbert on the team. Kalina also contributed in the field, leading the squad with five outfield assists from his left field position.

    A complete listing of the 2008 All-Big Ten Baseball Teams follows.

    1B - Nate Recknagel, MICH#
    2B - Ben Wolgamot, PUR
    SS - Jason Christian, MICH
    3B - Nate Hanson, MINN
    OF - Kyle Hudson, ILL#
    OF - Andrew Means, IND
    OF - Matt Nohelty, MINN
    C - Josh Phegley, IND#
    DH - Zach Putnam, MICH
    SP - Matt Bashore, IND
    SP - Chris Fetter, MICH
    SP - Zach Putnam, MICH#
    SP - Matt Bischoff, PUR
    RP - Drew O'Neil, PSU

    # - Denotes unanimous selection

    1B - Jake Goebbert, NU
    2B - Joe Bonadonna, ILL
    SS - Brandon Wikoff, ILL
    3B - Kevin Hoef, IOWA
    OF - Caleb Curry, IOWA
    OF - Kevin Cislo, MICH
    OF - Brandon Haveman, PUR
    C - Jeff DeSmidt, MINN
    DH - Daniel Webb, ILL
    SP - Eric Jokisch, NU
    SP - Jake Hale, OSU
    SP - Dean Wolosiansky, OSU
    SP - Mike Wanamaker, PSU
    RP - Josh Lindblom, PUR

    1B - Ryne White, PUR
    2B - Leif Mahler, MICH
    SS - Justin Toole, IOWA
    3B - Adam Abraham, MICH
    OF - Chris Roberts, MSU
    OF - Mike Kalina, NU
    OF - J.B. Shuck, OSU
    C - Joe Blackburn, PSU
    DH - Rob Yodice, PSU
    SP - Kevin Manson, ILL
    SP - Mark Sorensen, MSU
    SP - J.B. Shuck, OSU
    SP - Matt Jansen, PUR
    RP - Michael Powers, MICH

    PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Nate Recknagel, MICH
    FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR - Eric Jokisch, NU
    COACH OF THE YEAR - Rich Maloney, MICH

    Kyle Hudson, Illinois
    Andrew Means, Indiana
    Caleb Curry, Iowa
    Leif Mahler, Michigan
    Mark Sorensen, Michigan State
    Tom Steidl, Minnesota
    Jake Goebbert, Northwestern
    Dan DeLucia, Ohio State
    Brian Ernst, Penn State
    Ryne White, Purdue