Official Store

    Jennifer Averill
    Jennifer Averill

    Contemporary Era:
    1996 Inductee


    Medal of Honor Memories: Jennifer Averill celebrates the Big Ten Medal of Honor's 100th anniversary by catching up with past recipients


    Northwestern Big Ten Medal of Honor All-Time Winners

    Complete list of Northwestern's Big Ten Medal of Honor Winners

    One of eight Northwestern Female Athletes of the Decade for the 1980's, Averill was a six-time All-American in field hockey and lacrosse. As a field hockey player, she won the Broderick Award, given annually to the top collegiate athlete in the sport. Averill was the Northwestern and Big Ten Female Athlete of the Year for the 1986-87 school year. She was a four-time All-Big Ten, All-Midwest, and All-America selection.

    NU posted a 72-13-3 overall record and won three Big Ten titles during her career. In lacrosse, the Wildcats posted a 37-12 mark during her tenure and placed fifth nationally in three of her four seasons. She was a three-time All-South recipient and two-time All-America pick.