Official Store

    Northwestern Set to Induct Four New Members into Athletic Hall of Fame This Weekend

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Kathy Halley, one of four 2010-11 Hall of Fame inductees, was a three-time All-American for the Wildcats.
    Kathy Halley, one of four 2010-11 Hall of Fame inductees, was a three-time All-American for the Wildcats.

    Dec. 20, 2010

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- Northwestern University will induct four former student-athletes into its Athletic Hall of Fame on Saturday night. The Hall of Fame's 27th class also will be honored during the first-half timeouts of Sunday's Northwestern-Wisconsin game (11:30 a.m. tipoff). The induction ceremony and dinner take place at 6 p.m. Saturday at the Allen Center on Northwestern's Evanston campus.

    The Athletic Hall of Fame was inaugurated in 1984 to honor former athletes, coaches and administrators who have helped establish a proud tradition in intercollegiate competition at Northwestern. Individuals are eligible for Hall of Fame recognition beginning five years after their final competition at NU.

    Earning induction into NU's prestigious Hall this year: Steve DePetro (wrestling), Kathy Halley (field hockey), Courtney Koester (women's lacrosse) and Ralph Schultz (men's track and field). This year's four inductees increase Northwestern's Hall of Fame membership to 145. Following are brief summaries of the inductees' careers with their years of athletic participation (in parentheses):

    • Steve DePetro, Wrestling (1983-86) -- A two-time All-American, DePetro ranks second all-time on Northwestern's all-time wins list (146-30-4), just 10 shy of NU Hall-of-Famer Jack Griffin. He remains the Wildcats' single-season record holder with 44 wins in 1986, the year he placed third at the NCAA Championships, second at the Midlands Championships and second at the Big Ten Championships. DePetro concluded his senior season with a 44-4-1 record, one of the best single-season marks in NU history, and a 16-1-1 dual meet record. He went 8-0-1 during the Big Ten regular season.

    Three times during his Northwestern career, DePetro received the Stuteville Award, given to the wrestler who accumulates the most points. He also earned the Lupton Award (net takedowns) all four years of his career.

    DePetro's 37 wins his sophomore year and the 35 wins his junior year also rank among Northwestern's all-time top-10 for season victories. He placed fifth at the NCAA Championships in 1985.

    In July of 1987, DePetro competed in the U.S. Olympic Festival. He also competed and placed third in the Freestyle Open and Espoir Nationals.

    • Kathy Halley, Field Hockey (1989-92) -- Kathy Halley is one of Northwestern's most decorated field hockey players. She was a three-time All-American, joining current NU Hall-of-Famers' Kathleen Kochmansky, Colleen Senich and Jennifer Averill as the only NU field hockey players to garner All-America recognition three times or more. Halley earned first-team All-America honors in 1991 and '92, after receiving second-team kudos in 1990.

    Halley, who hailed from Newark, Del., was named Northwestern's NCAA Woman of the Year in 1993 and also received the "N" Club's Performance Award. She also was a GTE Academic All-District first-team recipient in 1993. Halley earned first-team All-Big Ten honors in 1992.

    Halley was a part of three NCAA Tournament teams (1989, 1990 and 1991), with the 1989 team reaching the NCAA national semifinals and placing third. Her long list of national-team accomplishments includes being a member of the U.S. National Field Hockey Team in 1990 and 1991, and a member of the U.S. Junior National Team in 1990.

    Courtney Koester, Women's Lacrosse (2002-05) -- Courtney Koester left her mark on the Northwestern women's lacrosse program, serving as the defensive team captain on the 2005 undefeated national championship team. Despite never playing lacrosse prior to being recruited by Kelly Amonte Hiller in 2001, Koester was a two-time IWLCA (Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association) and three-time Inside Lacrosse All-American, earning first team honors in 2004 from Inside Lacrosse and was named a first team by both outlets in 2005. Koester also was named the national Defender of the Year in 2005 by both the IWLCA and Inside Lacrosse and was a three-time All-American Lacrosse Conference first team selection.

    Koester, a Richmond, Ind. native, made her mark on the Northwestern record books where she currently ranks third all-time in program history in draw controls (201) and caused turnovers (80) and sixth in ground balls (146). Anchoring the Wildcat backfield, Koester and the Northwestern defensive unit allowed just 124 goals in 21 games, as the 5.90 goals against average remains the lowest in program history. She was named to the 2005 NCAA All-Tournament Team as the Wildcats captured the first of their five-straight national championships.

    Koester also excelled in the classroom, being named the CoSIDA Academic All-American of the Year in the women's at-large division in 2005 after being named to the All-District V teams in 2004 (third team) and 2005 (first team). Koester was also a four-time Academic All-Big Ten selection (2002-05), earning her degree in computer engineering. She also played on the women's basketball for one season (2000-01) prior to joining the lacrosse team.

    • Ralph Schultz, Track & Field (1966-69) -- One of Northwestern's elite middle distance runners of all-time, Ralph Schultz made headlines around the nation when he tied a world record in the 1,000-yard indoor race at the 1969 Big Ten Indoor Track and Field Championships in Champaign. His time of 2:06 tied the world mark held by New Zealand's former Olympic champion Peter Snell at the time. That mark remains the NU and Big Ten record for that race.

    Schultz went on to earn All-America honors at both the 1969 NCAA Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field events, placing fourth in the 1,000-yard indoor race and then sixth in the 880-yard outdoor race. His time of 1:47.3 in the outdoor event earned him a sixth-place finish. Following the season, Schultz was named Northwestern's Athlete of the Year and also was the recipient of the school's Big Ten Medal of Honor.

    Prior to his senior season, Schultz earned All-America honors at the 1968 NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships with a third-place showing and a time of 1:48.1 in the 880-yard run. Schultz earned a 1967 Big Ten title with a first-place finish in the 880-yard run. A team captain, Schultz spent two-plus years running for the University of Chicago Track Club following graduation. The Evergreen Park, Ill. native was a member of the 2-mile relay team that broke the American record in 1971.

    For reservations to the 2010-11 Northwestern Athletic Hall of Fame induction ceremony, please call Jean Yale at 847-491-3694 (or email, by Jan. 9.