Official Store

    Farrell & Flibotte Receive Prestigious Big Ten Medal of Honor

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Gabriella Flibotte joins Luke Farrell as NU's 2013 Big Ten Medal of Honor recipients.
    Gabriella Flibotte joins Luke Farrell as NU's 2013 Big Ten Medal of Honor recipients.

    June 5, 2013

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- A pair of Northwestern seniors are amongst a distinguished group of their peers to receive the 2012-13 Big Ten Medal of Honor, the conference announced Wednesday. Luke Farrell of the baseball program and Gabriella Flibotte of the lacrosse team are NU's deserving winners this year.

    First awarded in 1915, the Big Ten Medal of Honor is garnered upon one male and one female student-athlete from each of its 12 member institutions who excel not only on the playing field, but also in the classroom. Both Farrell and Flibotte are the lone recipients in each of their respective sports this season.

    Farrell was one of the top pitchers in the Big Ten during the 2013 campaign, and he was recognized as such with a second team All-Big Ten selection. His season-long performance was one of the best by a Northwestern pitcher in a long time. Farrell finished with a 2.13 ERA, the fourth lowest in the conference, and struck out a career-high 81 hitters. Opponents hit just .218 against him during the season, making him one of the toughest pitchers to face in the Big Ten.

    In addition to the All-Big Ten nod, Farrell earned two Big Ten Pitcher of the Week honors in a span of three weeks during Big Ten play, highlighted by a complete-game shutout of Michigan at Wrigley Field on April 20. He also held the Ohio State Buckeyes to a pair of hits over eight innings in a decisive 8-0 victory on May 4.

    The Westlake, Ohio, native excels in the classroom as well, capturing three Academic All-Big Ten awards for his performance while pursuing a communication studies degree with a minor in business institutions.

    In her Wildcat career, Flibotte established herself as a defensive leader for the Northwestern women's lacrosse dynasty. She was a four-year starter and defensive specialist for the `Cats and during her senior season led the team with an NU single-season record 60 ground balls as well as 49 caused turnovers, good for the third-best single-season total in program history.

    Flibotte's outstanding senior campaign garnered her national recognition as she received her first career IWLCA All-America accolade as a second-team honoree. She also was a first-team All-West/Midwest Region honor and was named the MVP of the American Lacrosse Conference Tournament, leading the Wildcats to the conference crown. Flibotte previously had earned ALC All-Tournament Team honors in both 2010 and 2012.

    Flibotte was a key contributor on Northwestern teams that recorded four straight appearances in the NCAA semifinals, three championship game berths and won the 2011 and 2012 national championships, extending NU's dynasty to a remarkable seven national titles in eight seasons.

    The Massachusetts native also has brought a winning attitude to the classroom, where she majors in communication studies. Flibotte is a three-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree.

    Farrell and Flibotte will receive their honors at the 2013 N Club Induction and Senior Recognition banquet on Thursday, June 20.

    Here is a complete list of Northwestern's All-Time Big Ten Medal of Honor Recipients.

    2012-13 Big Ten Medal of Honor Recipients:

    Brandon Paul , Men's Basketball
    Alina Weinstein, Women's Gymnastics

    Amy Coazd, Women's Swimming and Diving
    Luis Soffner, Men's Soccer

    Javier Balboa, Men's Gymnastics
    Morgan Johnson, Women's Basketball

    Jack Greenlee, Men's Track & Field
    Katie Zurales, Women's Gymnastics

    Michigan State
    Jacob Jarazen, Men's Swimming and Diving
    Caroline Powers, Women's Golf

    Quentin Mege, Men's Track & Field
    Noora Räty, Women's Ice Hockey

    Bjorn Barrefors, Men's Track & Field
    Mary Weatherholt, Women's Tennis

    Luke Farrell, Baseball
    Gabriella Flibotte, Women's Lacrosse

    Ohio State
    Alicia Herron, Softball
    Max Stearns, Men's Fencing

    Penn State
    Petra Januskova, Women's Tennis
    John Urschel, Football


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!