Official Store

    Wildcats Host Second-Annual Evanston Fire Versus NU Police Kickball Showdown

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM The second-annual Evanston Fire vs. NU Police kickball game is Tuesday!
    The second-annual Evanston Fire vs. NU Police kickball game is Tuesday!

    May 25, 2012

    EVANSTON, Ill. -- Northwestern's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) is hosting its second-annual Evanston Fire Department versus the Northwestern University Police Department kickball game at 5 p.m. CT Tuesday, May 29, at NU's Sharon J. Drysdale softball Field.

    Members of EFD and NUPD will square off on teams featuring a number of Northwestern student-athletes. NU head softball coach Kate Drohan will coach Team Fire while NU head baseball coach Paul Stevens will lead Team Police. The fire department team is defending its Golden Gatorade Trophy won in last year's game.

    "As student-athletes representing Northwestern University, we are excited for this opportunity to sponsor this kickball game as a way to show our appreciation for the service to our community provided by our local police and firefighters," SAAC president Jonathan Harris said. "The event is a great way for student-athletes, police and firefighters to compete as teammates in a fun-filled afternoon of action and to build positive relationships between NU student-athletes and the city of Evanston."

    The game will be played under the official kickball rules of the Players Sports Group. Fans are welcome and encouraged to attend this free and family-fun event honoring our local firefighters and police department! Sharon J. Drysdale Field is located at 1501 Central St. in Evanston, just northeast of Ryan Field and directly east of Welsh-Ryan Arena. Parking is available free of charge in the east lot of Ryan Field.

    Following the game, police officers, firefighters, student-athletes and staff members from the athletics department will congregate on Randy Walker Terrace for the PRIDE picnic, where awards will be given to student-athletes and teams for their commitment to the Northwestern and Evanston communities.

    The student-athletes participating in the game are:

    Team Fire (Coach Drohan)
    Reggie Hearn (men's basketball)
    Lauren Neuschel (cross country)
    Julia Retzky (field hockey)
    Mei Liu (women's golf)
    Olivia Duehr (softball)
    Shelby Johnson (women's swimming)
    Matthew Margritier (men's swimming)
    Spencer Wolf (men's tennis)
    Mike McMullan (wrestling)

    Team Police (Coach Stevens)
    Henry Brooke (baseball)
    Max Chapman (football)
    Sam Chien (men's golf)
    Jonathan Harris (men's soccer)
    Belinda Niu (women's tennis)
    Hannah Crippen (volleyball)
    Beatrice Conley (women's lacrosse)
    Kendrick Mooney (women's fencing)
    Meghan McKeown (women's basketball)


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook! and subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter to receive the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!