Official Store

    Northwestern Announces Winter Academic All-B1G Honors

    NUSPORTSDOTCOM Northwestern junior Chase Stephens is an NCAA Championships qualifier in addition to being an Academic All-Big Ten honoree.
    Northwestern junior Chase Stephens is an NCAA Championships qualifier in addition to being an Academic All-Big Ten honoree.

    March 27, 2013

    Official Conference Academic All-B1G Release Get Acrobat Reader

    EVANSTON, Ill. --Northwestern student-athletes have earned 42 Academic All-Big Ten honors in five winter sports, the Big Ten Conference announced today (March 27). Together with the 97 accolades won during the fall quarter, 139 Wildcats have been named Academic All-Big Ten during the 2012-13 academic year.

    Northwestern-sponsored sports honored by the Big Ten during the winter season are: men's and women's basketball, men's and women's swimming and wrestling. NU's women's fencing squad will earn its awards during the spring at-large period.

    Combining the best in athletics and academics, Wildcats like Reggie Hearn (men's basketball), Kendall Hackney (women's basketball) and Taylor Reynolds (women's swimming and diving) earned All-Big Ten status in addition to their Academic All-Big Ten honors. Reynolds, Chase Stephens of men's swimming and diving and Pierce Hargerof wrestling all qualified for their sports' respective NCAA Championships.

    To earn Academic All-Big Ten recognition, an athlete must be in his/her second year at the institution, letter in his/her sport and have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better.

    Instituted beginning in 2008-09, the conference office also will hand out the Distinguished Scholar Award at the end of the academic year. Student-athletes eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letter winners in at least their second year in residence at their institution. Qualifying student-athletes must have earned a GPA of 3.7 or higher for the current academic year, excluding summer school. The 3.7 GPA benchmark was designed to include the top 10 percent of all eligible student-athletes.

    The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference's Academic All-Big Ten program. The recipients will be honored prior to the fall of 2013 based on their GPAs from the 2012-13 academic year.

    Following are Northwestern's 2013 winter season Academic All-Big Ten award winners:

    Men's Basketball (5)
    Nikola Cerina, Sr. • History • Topola Oplenac, Serbia
    Drew Crawford, Sr. • Economics • Naperville, Ill.
    Reggie Hearn, Sr. • Psychology • Fort Wayne, Ind.
    Omar Jimenez, So. • Journalism • Kennessaw, Ga.
    Dave Sobolewski, So. • Economics • Naperville, Ill.

    Men's Swimming and Diving (12)
    Uula Auren, So. • Political Science • Helsinki, Finland
    Brien Gerber, Jr. • Mechanical Engineering • Naperville, Ill.
    Matthew Margritier, So. • Undeclared • Leawood, Kan.
    Nick Pinkerton, Jr. • Chemical Engineering • Hudson, Ohio
    Charlie Rimkus, Sr. • Political Science • Tustin, Calif.
    William Rosler, So. • Undeclared • Bexley, Ohio
    Andrew Seitz, So. • Materials Science and Engineering • Pleasanton, Calif.
    Varun Shivakumar, Sr. • Economics • Hoffman Estates, Ill.
    Tim Smith, Jr. • Civil Engineering • Oakland, Calif.
    Chase Stephens, Jr. • Economics • Madison, Wis.
    Toni Valcic, Sr. • Political Science • Ribnica, Slovenia
    Matt Wilcox, Jr. • Mechanical Engineering • Bemidji, Minn.

    Women's Basketball (6)
    Dannielle Diamant, Sr. • Human Development and Psychological Services • Las Vegas, Nev.
    Kendall Hackney, Sr. • Communication Studies • Cincinnati, Ohio
    Meghan McKeown, Jr. • Journalism • Glencoe, Ill.
    Kate Popovec, Gr. • Sports Administration • Canfield, Ohio
    Karly Roser, So. • Cognitive Science • Hamilton, Ontario
    La'Terria Taylor, Jr. • Learning and Organizational Change • Chicago, Ill.

    Women's Swimming and Diving (15)
    Mary Kate Campbell, Jr. • Journalism • Burr Ridge, Ill.
    Meaghan Fenn, Sr. • Human Communication Sciences • New Rochelle, N.Y.
    Fallon Fitzpatrick, Jr. • Human Communication Sciences • Delray Beach, Fla.
    Megan Goss, Jr. • Psychology • Brentwood, Tenn.
    Marybeth Hall, Sr. • Biological Sciences • Brighton, Mich.
    Meredith King, Sr. • Statistics • Louisville, Ky.
    Madeleine Klichowski, So. • Mechanical Engineering • Chicago, Ill.
    Cosima Lenz, Jr. • German • Altadena, Calif.
    Felicitas Lenz, Sr. • German • Altadena, Calif.
    Katie McCullough, Sr. • Statistics • Grand Rapids, Mich.
    Valerie Nubbe, So. • Environmental Sciences • Huntsville, Ala.
    Jackie Powell, Jr. • Social Policy • Madison, Wis.
    Taylor Reynolds, Sr. • English • St. Louis, Mo.
    Becca Soderholm, Jr. • Sociology • Madison, Wis.
    Erin Sosdian, Jr. • Mechanical Engineering • The Woodlands, Texas

    Wrestling (4)
    John Coukos, So. • Integrated Science Program (ISP) and Mathematics (double major) • Framingham, Mass.
    Pat Greco, Jr. • Political Science • St. Charles, Ill.
    Pierce Harger, Jr. • Industrial Engineering • Loveland, Ohio
    Levi Mele, Sr. • Social Policy • Vernal, Utah


    Be the first to know what's going on with the 'Cats -- Follow @NU_Sports on Twitter, become a fan of Northwestern Athletics on Facebook, subscribe to the NU Sports Express e-newsletter and sign up to receive promotional text alerts for the latest news, schedule updates and video and to interact with NU. For more information on following specific Northwestern teams online, visit our Social Media page!